We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sparcs07
Epsom, United Kingdom

Great hotel, super dining , but some small defects ..

Review of Tides Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024via mobile
Ideal hotel furniture seeing Nelson, outstanding restaurant and bar .

Bedroom wonderful, high quality

Poor plumbing , meant toilet seat would not stay up, as a man this is so bad - “are we meant to hold it up with one hand !!! “ .

Paper thin walls , woken up Tat 06:30 from adjoining rooms TV.

Ad said it’s a great place just needs some tweaks to be 10/10..
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 5 May 2024
Good morning Sparcs
Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed our restaurant and your room.
I will be sure to pass on your feedback
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards Elesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$168
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Agoda.com
    $157
  • Hotels.com
    $159
0.3 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$162
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $146
0.9 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$177
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $177
  • Tripadvisor
    $177
0.8 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $163
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$255
  • Hotels.com
    $251
  • ZenHotels.com
    $244
  • Expedia.com
    $255
2.0 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Tripadvisor
    $215
0.8 km from Tides Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$152
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
$150
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
$183
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $183
8.4 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
loft apartment balcony
$162
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
444
282
84
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
444
282
84
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trailways hotel river view great location spa bath hotel restaurant nice room central location ground floor close to town an easy walk stayed nights visit nelson great place to stay south island comfy bed abel tasman balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2024

Fantastic, love this Hotel, lovely rooms, great restaurant and friendly staff, awesome location on the river front, great views from the rooms and restaurant. I have stayed here several times before and always enjoy it.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alpacayarns
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Hi Alpacayarns
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the awesome location
We look forward to your next visit
Kind regards Elesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

We are touring New Zealand with a small group. The Tides was chosen by the tour company. We had a nice stay in this hotel that has a bit of arty vibe going along with a comfortable bed and nice room. The decor is fun with a purple chair and a patterned toilet seat in most rooms. There is also mural art in the room and elsewhere on the property. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The hotel was well located allowing us to walk to dinner and the cathedral.

We had the buffet breakfast that came with our room. There were hot items as well as yogurt, fruit and cereal. We were happy!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Hi Deb
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased you noticed the colourful ark work and funky decor! we will be sure to pass your feedback on. We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Kid regards Elesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

We were visiting NZ and looking to stay overnight in Nelson. We were wanting accomodation that had a bar and restaurant as part of the offering, was close to the CBD and was modernish. We didn't really want to stay at one of the ubiquitous motels in the area. We found the tides very comfortable. That king bed was so good. The restaurant / bar had a good selection of great food and a well stocked bar. The best thing was the fantastic service provided at both breakfast and lunch. Cheeky, fun and efficient. Would definitely stay at the Tides again.

Room tip: Plenty of on site parking
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GSC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to hear you were very comfortable during your stay and received good service from our friendly team! We will be sure to pass this on to everyone :)
Many thanks Elesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024

The food and service was excellent ,our waiter Marcel was brilliant.
The decor in the restaurant could do with an improvement.The food standard matched anything we had in Wellington. The scallops, lamb and venison were gorgeous and the wine choice was great and reasonably priced.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mobile14708423990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Hi Mobile
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear the food and service provided were excellent, our venison and scallop dishes are very popular. We look forward to your next stay with us
Kind regards Elehsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

We traveled all around the North Island, from Auckland to Wellington, and found this hotel to be our favorite hotel in our trip to New Zealand. The rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable for 2 people, the food is excellent, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Many of the rooms have lovely views of the nearby river, and it's a very easy walk into town. Highly recommended!

Room tip: There is plenty of parking on site.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevekW4093DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Hi Steve
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear we were your favourite place to stay in New Zealand and you also enjoyed our on-site restaurant. We hope to welcome you back in the future
Kind regards Elesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews