We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GSC1963
Perth, Australia

Overnight at the Tides in Nelson

Review of Tides Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2024via mobile
We were visiting NZ and looking to stay overnight in Nelson. We were wanting accomodation that had a bar and restaurant as part of the offering, was close to the CBD and was modernish. We didn't really want to stay at one of the ubiquitous motels in the area. We found the tides very comfortable. That king bed was so good. The restaurant / bar had a good selection of great food and a well stocked bar. The best thing was the fantastic service provided at both breakfast and lunch. Cheeky, fun and efficient. Would definitely stay at the Tides again.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Plenty of on site parking
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 30 Mar 2024
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very pleased to hear you were very comfortable during your stay and received good service from our friendly team! We will be sure to pass this on to everyone :)
Many thanks Elesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $146
  • Hotels.com
0.9 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $153
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $254
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Tides Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $132
4.1 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $183
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Priceline
    $183
8.4 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $69
  • eDreams
2.1 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
444
282
84
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
444
282
84
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trailways hotel river view great location spa bath hotel restaurant nice room central location ground floor close to town an easy walk stayed nights visit nelson great place to stay south island comfy bed abel tasman balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 839 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024

The food and service was excellent ,our waiter Marcel was brilliant.
The decor in the restaurant could do with an improvement.The food standard matched anything we had in Wellington. The scallops, lamb and venison were gorgeous and the wine choice was great and reasonably priced.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mobile14708423990
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Hi Mobile
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear the food and service provided were excellent, our venison and scallop dishes are very popular. We look forward to your next stay with us
Kind regards Elehsa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

We traveled all around the North Island, from Auckland to Wellington, and found this hotel to be our favorite hotel in our trip to New Zealand. The rooms and bathrooms are very comfortable for 2 people, the food is excellent, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Many of the rooms have lovely views of the nearby river, and it's a very easy walk into town. Highly recommended!

Room tip: There is plenty of parking on site.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevekW4093DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2024

Hi Steve
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear we were your favourite place to stay in New Zealand and you also enjoyed our on-site restaurant. We hope to welcome you back in the future
Kind regards Elesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2024

The vibrant art showing transfers to the menu, which is so worth a visit and treat your tastebuds . Never disappoints. Will shortly be back to Tides for our 3rd stay . The best in Nelson . Dining alongside the river is a relaxing find when staying just a few minutes walk to the city

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Hi
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our on-site restaurant
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards Elesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024 via mobile

The hotel is good, the decor is quirky (which is good), the food is ok, but come on Tides, the plumbing is AWFUL. Every time the people in the room next door use their shower, toilet, taps or whatever, you can hear it like it was in your own room! The architect needs to come back here now because I’ve never heard anything like it!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Hi Simon
Thank you for your feedback we are happy to hear you like the quirky decor. I will pass on your feedback regarding the plumbing so we can have a look into the issue.
Many thanks Elesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2024 via mobile

The Tides is an updated motel, a very nice updated motel. The front desk staff is helpful and friendly, and housekeeping kept our room tidy. We stayed there before and after hiking Abel Tasman. Both rooms were on the second floor overlooking the river. Our first room was in the middle of the floor, and was peaceful and the balcony a nice place to relax. The second room we had was at the beginning of the hall, closer to the restaurant patio, so we could hear the music and conversations. The river is actually an estuary, so other than at high tide, there wasn’t much water in it.

I would not stay at the Tides again. The main reason is the plumbing and bathroom. The plumbing is very loud. You better hope the adjoining room does not take an early, or late, shower. The noise will be loud in your room. And, don’t have a private conversation in your bathroom; a person next door can hear it perfectly. The sofa bed in our first room must have been broken. When I sat down, I was very close to the floor.

The restaurant was a disappointment. It seems understaffed. We wanted to order off the menu for a breakfast, and no one stopped by to ask if we wanted anything. We had a dinner there, and waited over 10 minutes for someone to come over to answer questions or take our order. The breakfast buffet is fine, but I wouldn’t get the eggs again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 106brucew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Hi Bruce
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you received friendly service from our team we will pass this on.
We will be sure to look into your feedback.
Regards Elesha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews