We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
charliB
Westport, New Zealand

Overpriced rooms, good location, friendly staff

Review of Tides Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2024via mobile
Ridiculously overpriced. Was there with a large group for work and everyone was shocked. Positive side, staff were friendly & helpful, rooms were clean, meals were ok, location was good. Purple painted wall in halls made place look dated.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Don’t book direct. We were charged $359 per night, booking.com was $180.
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Mar 2024
Hi Ricnca
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you received friendly and helpful service from our team and enjoyed the location. Our prices are similar to all other hotels/motels in Nelson, we have also just been in "peak season" and the supply and demand has been extremely high. We always quote the price of the room at the time of booking g which is agreed to before booking. We hope to welcome you back again
Kind regards Elesha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$165
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $136
  • Priceline
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $148
0.9 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $197
  • Priceline
    $196
  • Hotels.com
    $196
0.8 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$181
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $168
1.1 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $165
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
0.3 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$107
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $88
  • Priceline
    $107
1.5 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
$150
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Official Site
    $128
  • Priceline
    $132
4.1 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $205
  • Trip.com
    $197
  • Priceline
    $215
0.8 km from Tides Hotel
Free parking
Pool
$140
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $136
  • Expedia.com
    $138
3.4 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
$189
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $189
8.4 km from Tides Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
loft apartment balcony
$144
    1.9 km from Tides Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Nelson
    Reviews (839)
    Filter reviews
    839 results
    Traveller rating
    444
    282
    84
    17
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    444
    282
    84
    17
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews trailways hotel river view great location spa bath hotel restaurant nice room central location ground floor close to town an easy walk stayed nights visit nelson great place to stay south island comfy bed abel tasman balcony
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    13 - 18 of 839 reviews
    Reviewed 21 February 2024

    We spent two separate nights at the Tides Hotel before and after an extended hiking trek. The hotel is conveniently located in the city center within walking distance of shops, restaurants, parks and the harbor. Upon arrival both days the staff was welcoming and offered an early check-in given as our room was ready. They offered luggage storage while we were on trail and have a guest laundry room which we utilized upon our return.

    The room was cozy, clean, comfortably appointed and offered a scenic view of the river. Coffee and tea service, bottled water, milk as well as robes were provided which was a nice touch.

    The restaurant was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We dined there for all three meals over the course of our stay. The wine and beer list was satisfactory and the food very good with ample size portions. We found the wait staff to be cheery and attentive.

    We enjoy tramping in the Nelson Lakes area and will choose to stay at the Tides again on a future trip.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank Connector725052
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 February 2024

    We loved this hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our room. The art deco on the walls throughout the hotel was beautiful - but the BEST was the TOILET! HA - no really the best was Cass - our waitress who went out of her way to help us choose the best wine, coffee, food, etc. The room was clean and fun.

    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank ellenl128
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

    Hi Ellen
    Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the colourful decor. We will be sure to pass your feedback on to our team.
    We hope to welcome you back soon
    Kind regards Elesha

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay. Rooms were nice. Beds comfortable and it was quiet. The only negative is that our room and the bathroom were small. We would stay here again. We had breakfast at their restaurant which was okay. Can’t think of anything else to say

    Date of stay: February 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank davidE2069R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

    Hi David
    Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the comfortable beds.
    We hope to welcome you back soon
    Kind regards Elesha

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 February 2024

    My stay was OK however -
    Rooms have different prices for Poolside ground floor, Poolside 1st floor, Riverfront rooms the same. I booked a Poolside studio spa shower, . When I arrived I found that I was on the ground floor with sliding doors to the parking lot which is on the main road. I advised them that I felt uncomfortable about that being a single woman & was advised by reception that I would have to pay a surcharge to stay on the 1st floor (2 floor hotel) & it was only when I became upset that the manager stepped in & waived that fee & put me on the 1st floor even with the receptionist still arguing about it.
    Other disappointments -
    Room explanation - anyone booking a poolside room would think they would be poolside & not in the parking lot, in fact most dictionaries say poolside is around a pool. The first room i was put in had a view & doors to the carpark not to a pool. Second room hard partial view of the very small pool area the rest of the view was cars.
    Curtains - have no blackout & are so light that you could be in daylight at night;
    Sofabed - great that there is a sofabed however it was barely comfortable to sit on so sleeping for another adult would have been very uncomfortable;
    Pool - seating for 10 people maximum, very small pool next to carpark;
    Dinner - was very nice however very small portions for the price;
    Price - I paid $260ish for the room which I think is overpriced for the standard.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Kaye J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

    Hi Kaye
    Thank you for your feedback.
    The room types are not priced differently for upstairs/downstairs
    The ground-floor rooms have 2 locks on the door as I explained one on the main door and one dead bolt.
    This is disappointing to read considering I upgraded your room type and moved you upstairs to solve the issue free of charge.
    Im sorry you were disappointed, we did our absolute best to try and m, make you happy and feel safe.
    If you wish to discuss any further please get in contact with us
    Kind regards Elesha

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 January 2024

    Very nice rooms with an excellent view over the river; staff super friendly and always helpful. Bathroom has kind of an odd design but that’s just a side note😉 Food was excellent - the restaurant is definitely worth a try!

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled solo
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank TravelWithTina2024
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Toby Munro, General Manager at Tides Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

    Hi Tina
    Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the river view and our friendly team. We will be sure to pass on your feedback
    Many thanks Elesha

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews