We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$90
Traveluro
Booking.comUS$90
PricelineUS$90
Hotels.comUS$90
FindHotelUS$90
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
387
271
77
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
387
271
77
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view great location tides restaurant spa bath underfloor heating in the bathroom reception staff central location nice room the ground floor heat pump free wifi close to town would stay again an easy walk stayed nights abel tasman balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2022 via mobile

Just I want to say it’s the best hotel in All New Zeland plus the restaurant and the food just awesome I love it and I will back there again. The room was spacious and comfortable and smelt delicious. The pool was warm and a welcome addition. Loved the spa bath. The restaurant was delicious. The food is superb. All staff are very nice and hospitable.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Venture39564130986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Munro, Revenue Management at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2022

Hello Venture39564130986,
Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased to hear your wonderful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2021

Stayed here a couple of days with friends - room was well appointed with a nice view over the river, and the price was pretty reasonable too. The restaurant/bar though! This was a great surprise... really nice food on offer and the staff were fantastic.
Would happily return on my next visit to Nelson!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Munro, Revenue Management at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2021

Hello Ujim,
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 Star feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2021

We booked here for two nights. The room was lovely, with a balcony and overlooking the Tidal river. The bathroom was great, heated floor and a shower that was so nice.
The Hotel is located not even 2 minutes walk into Nelson main centre. There was ample parking also. The service was lovely and friendly and everything was clean and tidy as you'd expect.
We had breakfast in their restaurant at a reasonable price and there was a good selection off a menu. We had dinner with family in the restaurant on one night and it was very nice.
Overall this is somewhere i'd recommend and would stay at again.

Room tip: first floor River view (be aware river is tidal)
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Murray2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Munro, Revenue Management at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2021

Thank you for your recommendation Murray! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. The team at Trailways Hotel & the Tides Restaurant look forward to welcoming you back if your ever visiting Nelson in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

A lovely place to begin and end the Abel Tasman great walk adventure. It was very comfortable with a good friendly bar / restaurant with relaxed outdoor area. Close to town as well.
Staff were mostly friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Munro, Revenue Management at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Hello Jenny H,
Thank you for your warm comments about your most recent stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Many thanks
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Super comfortable, warm, and scrupulously clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to food, shops, riverside strolls and other activities. Perfect location for a short school holiday break!

Date of stay: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Extraordinary383006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toby Munro, Revenue Management at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Hello Extraordinary383006,
Thank you for taking the time to share your 5/5 star review on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews