We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to home.”

Speight's Ale House
Ranked #13 of 213 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated on Quarantine Rd opposite Mitre 10 Mega and the WOW Museum we are proud to be the 17th Speight's Ale House across the country and the very first of the new look Ale House! Whether its good hearty portions of southern style food or Speight's exclusive range of award winning tap beer and extensive wine list this is the place to cater for all. With space for over 250 patrons in one of our many areas of the Restaurant , Bar or sun drenched Garden Bar there is always a spot for everyone. The Speight's Ale House brings strong traditions of legendary southern hospitality and you'll find the owner operator Gareth Caldwell and his great crew of staff live and breath by these age old values. With always plenty of entertainment , live sport and weekly specials keep your eye on our "What's on at The Ale House" to be sure not to miss out! Our popular upstairs area allows us to offer a private function area in which we are capable of catering for groups up to 75 people so whether it's a Birthday Party, Social Club gathering, or just a good old get together we can cater to your every need. Come on down and see what we are all about and start experiencing the Ale House way of Southern Hospitality! "Good on ya mate"
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Drive past the Ale probably 3-4 times a week going to mitre 10.
And finally after a busy day decided to get some dinner with the family,

Able to sit outside in the sun or inside once the sun goes down,
Nice seating areas on the couch or at a table,
Good service don’t have to wait long till someone shows up at your table.

Very good food :) love the pork and crakle, and a great Angus beef burger!
Great place to take the family and chill out either in summer or during the winter inside.

Thank rubovski88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alehousenelson, Manager at Speight's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there!

I am glad you enjoyed your meals. I love the pork and crackle myself.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

4 of us ladies were allocated a lovely quiet alcove, as requested, very happy with that. We managed to chat for three hours! Our meals (venison, nachos, pork and crackling and fish and chips) were all VG. We also had brownies and banofee sundae which were very nice. Waitresses were all very pleasant, however service was slow especially for the drinks initially. We would be very happy to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoisMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alehousenelson, Manager at Speight's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Lois,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it.

We all hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Large meals, and staff were really nice too.
Our party had steaks, burgers, salmon and pasta, all were really good.
The meals are large and we had no room for dessert unfortunately.

Thank Jonti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alehousenelson, Manager at Speight's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jonti,

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review.

We hope to see you again soon maybe for dessert.

Cheers,
Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Informal casual dining in a friendly relaxed pub atmosphere. No fuss and family friendly, convenient proximity to grab a drink while awaiting your flight from Nelson airport.

Thank Simone H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alehousenelson, General Manager at Speight's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Simone,

Thank you for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Great buzz and atmosphere here, and the service is good. For the most part the food is above average but overpriced if you compare to other top restaurants in Nelson. All 4 at our table enjoyed our selections, and we also had dessert, this was the biggest let down of our visit. Quite possibly the worst sticky date pudding I've had, dry and sparce in the date department. Overall a good night but don't expect 5 star restaurant quality.

Thank MartinCamilleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alehousenelson, General Manager at Speight's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Martin,

I am glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and thought our service was good. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy our sticky date pudding, I am sorry you did not enjoy it as most of our customers rave about the fish! I am truly am sorry it did not meet your expectations.

We hope to see you again,

Kind regards,

Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speight's Ale House also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Speight's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing