We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$215
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$193
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
178
241
90
32
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
178
241
90
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage hotel comfortable hotel good size new zealand central location bars and restaurants room was large couple of nights two nights would stay again cathedral conference nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2023

I I waited an hour and a half for my meal in the restaurant and in the end gave up and went to bed. My recommendation is …….don’t eat here. The rooms were very pleasant if a little care worn, staff pleasant but ineffectual.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lesley499522
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2023 via mobile

Great location, Staff were lovely, place was dated but tidy. Dinner Restaurant is still closed due to covid. The main reason for the down review is I had booked with a voucher for the first night that included breakfast. I asked for 2 more nights and expected breakfast. When I checked in, I validated it was but when we checked out was told not the case so we paid $69 (2 pax) per day for an avg breakfast that had we known we would have gone elsewhere and paid less. Mgr on duty would not budge or even apologise. Disappointed as I would have rated much higher

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank alexj671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander Siebentritt, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Dear alexj671,

thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are sorry to hear that not all aspects of your stay have met your expectations. While we are very happy to hear that our team and facilities let you enjoy your stay with us in general.

Equally we are disappointed to learn that you have not been fully made aware what is included in your room rate. We do offer both, breakfast inclusive rates as well as room only rates. It would appear that a room only rate was applied for the extension of your stay.

Our full buffet breakfast includes everything from a la carte options to, juices, tea and coffee as well as, of course a wide selection of hot and cold food items. We feel that our charge rates are fair and reflect amount and quality available.

Again thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us and we hope that, despite your breakfast experience, we are able to be welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2023

My wife and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at THE RUTHERFORD HOTEL. Our room was absolutely superb. However, what a let down the breakfast was. The quality of the food was appalling. Lukewarm, cheap tasteless sausages and hash browns, soggy scrambled eggs and very poor service. I can not understand why a quality hotel buy's such cheap food to serve to their guests. Come on MANAGEMENT, you can and SHOULD do much better than this.

Room tip: Do NOT have breakfast at this hotel.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank silverhead2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander Siebentritt, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Dear silverhead2016,

thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are sorry to hear that not all aspects of your stay have met your expectations. While we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room for your special occasion, we are equally disappointed to learn that breakfast didn't meet your expectation.

We have discussed your comments around food and service with our culinary team and also reviewed other positive feedback received from our 80 guests that morning.
We do check the food temperature frequently on our buffet and keep records, these have not shown any great variation that day.
As for the food quality, our sausages are locally produced and are what we feel of very high quality.

The same is to be said for hash browns and bacon, while generally fattier product, quality is our utmost focus. Here again, I can assure you that we are purchasing well established brands with proven high quality products.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we hope to be welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2023

HIGHLY recommend you choose the Rutherford Hotel for your stay at Nelson, you get treated like VIP's without the price tag

We stayed at the Rutherford for 5 days

Stepping into the foyer & the presentation of the staff - l thought major dollars, but found out it was the cheapest accommodation in Nelson.

Best Customer service ever received, world wide.
Not only did all the staff look so sharp & professional in their suits, they were ALL immaculately groomed.
The staff were very warm & genuinely friendly and extremely helpful.

Requested 2 coffee mugs and extra coat hangers -absolutely no issues - very different to the service at the Rydges Wellington (l have also reviewed Rydges Wellington)

Location was excellent- only a few steps and you are in the main shopping and Eateries district, made it extremely useful as my husband uses a walking stick

Room was huge with fantastic views over looking the sea and hills.

There was even a pillow menu - Yes you can choose from:
Aroma Therapy Pillow
Feather Pillow
Plush Latex Pillow
Asthma & Allergy Safe Pillow

Pillows were perfect so l didn't change them and the Bed well it was so comfortable, l even slept in, every morning.

Facilities in the room were excellent:
Besides the shower cap there was also a vanity box for ladies - which included a nail file

2 x beautiful fresh , white bath robes (they looked very new), but l didn't use them, because the towels also very white and fresh looking were very absorbent and Soft !

Room Compendium - with all the necessary info a visitor requires including paper & pen ( It is a shame most of the hotels no longer have these in the rooms)

The usual coffee and tea facilities

Housekeeping - EXCELLENT !

Have l mentioned the Bar and Restaurant- Very Impressive - there is also a Cafe near the foyer

ALL your needs are met at the Rutherford Hotel

Room tip: Just enjoy being treated like VIP's
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PNCorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander Siebentritt, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Dear PNCorbo,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your encouraging feedback. We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your experience with us and that our team was able to make your stay so memorable.

I have shared your motivating comments with our team here at the hotel.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our extraordinary region in the near future.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

This is a great place to stay - comfortable rooms and beds, friendly staff and all within walking distance of everything in Nelson CBD. I’ve stayed here several times and always enjoyed it. The hotel is a little bit dated but it’s clean and very well looked after. Ask for a room overlooking the cathedral and the city. 10/10 from me

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Vivienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alexander Siebentritt, General Manager at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2023

Dear Vivienne S,

thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your encouraging feedback.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your experience with us and that our team was able to make your return visit so memorable.

I have gladly shared your encouraging feedback with our team. You will be pleased to learn that we are currently in the planning stages for some updates around the hotel.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our extraordinary region.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews