We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$133
Expedia.comUS$133
eDreamsUS$134
CheapTicketsUS$133
ZenHotels.comUS$142
TravelocityUS$133
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
160
230
84
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
160
230
84
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant valet parking main restaurant comfortable hotel new zealand bit dated mini bar room was large few minutes walk centre of town stayed here for nights south island cathedral nz cafes bathrobes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2021

This hotel is interesting because it is dated but in a classic way. Everything is neat and tidy, just not modern or new. Our room was comfortable and spacious plus the staff were friendly. Very convenient location to park up and explore central Nelson on foot.

Disliked · I paid for the room on check in but had to pay $5 for parking on check out, which was slightly irritating. The hotel also charges credit card fees. The shower set up means water gets onto the bathroom floor.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander Siebentritt, Other at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2021

Dear Emma W,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave us your review.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team was able to make your stay memorable.
We will ensure to share your encouraging feedback with the team.

Also thank you very much for feedback on areas of improvement, this is very important to us an we are reviewing opportunities to ensure for a better guest experience. Unfortunately the 1.5% additional cost to credit card transactions is a result of high fees charged to us from our financial service providers and is something we decided to pass on to those deciding to use credit cards. If paying with cash or eftpos this cost does not apply. We decided to add this cost to credit card transaction only in order to be more transparent and not include the associated cost charged by our financial service providers as a fixed position in our pricing structure for all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

Great spot, super handy to cbd so we could walk everywhere. Staff all very professional & looked impeccable, certainly no friendly banter though! Showers needed more pressure! Rooms getting serviced at 5pm was a pain but understand they were super busy.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank MummaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander Siebentritt, Other at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Dear MummaandCo,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave us your review.
We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would certainly be interested in learning more around your comments around our team if you feel there is an area of improvement. As we do strongly believe that the delivery of exceptional service consists of more than just presentation, interaction is an important part thereof.
We will take your comments around the showers into consideration when planning future upgrades and our apologies for the slightly later servicing than usual.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2020 via mobile

This hotel is a scam!

Don't come here, avoid at all cost.

I booked a accessable room for two nights, I left after the first.

The hotel is not 4 stars, it's more like 2 stars.

The carpet makes my wheelchair sink - clearly not wheelchair accessible.o

The bathroom is small and has tilted floors that make it a mission to use.

The staff didn't even refund me for my nights stay - for the amount of money they charged me - this is definitely a scam.

Like I said, avoid this hotel at all cost, they'll do anything to steal from you.

Google and TripAdvisor should be sued they even allow these morons on their platform.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank iamcodievincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

The hotel has had a makeover keeping to an 'old school' hotel charm. The stay was just what we needed after a long kayak and hike in the Abel Tasman national park.
Central and within walking distance to the centre of town

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiness52865273668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander Siebentritt, Other at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

Dear Happiness52865273668,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your experience with us and our extraordinary region. There is so much to see and do in Nelson, plenty for another visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Staying in a corner suite, the space was comfortable, tidy and great to have a microwave, hob, and fridge.

Unfortunately the noise from the street below makes for a less-than-restful experience. This might be improved by having double glazing on the windows. As it is, the windows let in cold air from outside

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UlfilasNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander Siebentritt, Other at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

Dear UlfilasNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you generally enjoyed your experience with us. We will take your comments into consideration when planning our next refurbishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to our extraordinary region.


Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews