We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
158
230
84
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
158
230
84
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese restaurant valet parking main restaurant comfortable hotel new zealand bit dated mini bar room was large few minutes walk centre of town stayed here for nights south island cathedral nz cafes bathrobes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has had a makeover keeping to an 'old school' hotel charm. The stay was just what we needed after a long kayak and hike in the Abel Tasman national park.
Central and within walking distance to the centre of town

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiness52865273668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander Siebentritt, Other at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Happiness52865273668,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your experience with us and our extraordinary region. There is so much to see and do in Nelson, plenty for another visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

Staying in a corner suite, the space was comfortable, tidy and great to have a microwave, hob, and fridge.

Unfortunately the noise from the street below makes for a less-than-restful experience. This might be improved by having double glazing on the windows. As it is, the windows let in cold air from outside

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank UlfilasNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander Siebentritt, Other at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear UlfilasNZ,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you generally enjoyed your experience with us. We will take your comments into consideration when planning our next refurbishment.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to our extraordinary region.


Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

Exactly what I needed after doing a 4 day great walk!... The beds were incredibly comfy, the food was delicious and the staff were so eager to make sure your stay was perfect.

The room came with all the facilities I needed, I really couldn't have wished for anymore!

Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ukwonderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander Siebentritt, Other at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear Ukwonderboy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your experience with us and that our team was able to make your stay so memorable.
I will ensure to pass on your encouraging feedback to the team here at Rutherford Hotel Nelson.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, perhaps to explore some of the other national parks and walks we have here in our extraordinary region.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

From the centre of New Zealand to his fabulous beaches an amazing place to visit or use as a base if you are travelling to South Island. The city itself has a cathedral and many public parks . The shops are varied with many selling original art which can also be found at the weekend farmers market

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GINGERALWAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander Siebentritt, Other at Rutherford Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2020

Dear GINGERALWAYS,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your experience in our smart little city and extraordinary region.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards
from the team at Rutherford Hotel Nelson ~ A Heritage Hotel.
"Experience the best of N.E.L.S.O.N."
Nature - Exceptional - Local - Safe - Optimistic - Neat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2020

The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of Nelson. Despite being quiet at the time, the hotel was well presented clean and comfortable. My go to for the next trip to Nelson.

The hotel is clearly from the 70s or 80s, and retains that feel. But, it does so in a classy way, it’s a bit of a step back to the past, but it feels like a novelty being there.

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank WalesNZ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews