We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016

Great spot to spend a few nights. The rooms are magnificent; clean and spacious. The restaurants are divine. There is a Japanese restaurant and a western cuisine restaurant that are both of exceptional high quality.
My only hesitation was the limited amount of wifi offered. You could choose to pay for up to 1GB otherwise the included offering was minimal. As I was there on business, I needed wifi to continue working in the room. The staff were great though and extended my usage to 1GB for no extra charge. I spend a lot of time in hotels and wifi is mostly an inclusion.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebruap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    172
    63
    23
    5
See reviews for
33
162
15
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohaupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I were given a Air New Zealand mystery holiday. Wonderful place to stay. AMAZING service. Resturants were devine. It was even hot enough to use the pool which i must say was very relaxing. ☺

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank miniehaha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here just one night at the beginning of a week-long trip in the South Island and I was impressed with the quality of the hotel accommodation and more importantly the staff.

For its age the hotel was of good quality. And the in-house restaurant Oceano was good.

The big draw card for me was the staff. As it is said, a little kindness goes a long way. I spoke with about 6 staff members between check-in and check-out and they were all very friendly and helpful, and I felt not because they had to be.

Would highly recommend based on my experience.

Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank johobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

A lovely place to stay, and in a gorgeous central location. We had a great meal in the Oceania restaurant with lovely views to the cathedral and gardens. Thoroughly recommend - and don't be put off by the rather odd exterior.

Stayed December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

This turned out to be a perfect choice for us. The location was ideal; easy walk to shops, restaurants and the Saturday market. The hotel has a couple of restaurants. The Japanese is very good. We didn't try the other. Our room was very comfortable wth all mod cons. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good parking. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_T_Buds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.1 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 42 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.9 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.3 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
6.1 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rutherford Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutherford Hotel Nelson

Property: Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Address: 27 Nile Street West | P O Box 248, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price range (per night): $220 - $297
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rutherford Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nelson is an extraordinary NZ destination befitting a hotel of such a high standard. The Rutherford Hotel Nelson offers luxurious hotel accommodation with a full complement of features designed to help you achieve the most from your stay. The hotel offers a range of superior guest facilities including two restaurants, a cafe and is only a couple of minutes walk from Nelson's main shopping district and landmark cathedral. Dining, relaxing, or getting away from it all, this is one of the few hotels that puts you right at the doorstep of three national parks and an unmatched range of sandy beaches, blue seas and mountain wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Rutherford Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Rutherford Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing