We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Palms Nelson(Nelson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
429 results
Traveller rating
124
201
70
29
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
201
70
29
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshower over the bathlarge hotelgood sizecentral locationnew zealandreception staffbit datedmini barbars and restaurantstrafalgar streetfree wifiappointed roomsa lovely place to staywould stay againcomfortable bedfew minutes walkstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 429 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I were given a Air New Zealand mystery holiday. Wonderful place to stay. AMAZING service. Resturants were devine. It was even hot enough to use the pool which i must say was very relaxing. ☺

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank miniehaha4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here just one night at the beginning of a week-long trip in the South Island and I was impressed with the quality of the hotel accommodation and more importantly the staff.

For its age the hotel was of good quality. And the in-house restaurant Oceano was good.

The big draw card for me was the staff. As it is said, a little kindness goes a long way. I spoke with about 6 staff members between check-in and check-out and they were all very friendly and helpful, and I felt not because they had to be.

Would highly recommend based on my experience.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank johobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

A lovely place to stay, and in a gorgeous central location. We had a great meal in the Oceania restaurant with lovely views to the cathedral and gardens. Thoroughly recommend - and don't be put off by the rather odd exterior.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

This turned out to be a perfect choice for us. The location was ideal; easy walk to shops, restaurants and the Saturday market. The hotel has a couple of restaurants. The Japanese is very good. We didn't try the other. Our room was very comfortable wth all mod cons. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good parking. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr_T_Buds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

This was a good quality hotel, well worth its 4* rating. It had nice rooms with good bathrooms. Breakfasts were good - although it was one of those hotels (increasingly a minority) where you have to wait for a waitress to give you/top up coffee! For me a serve-yourself coffee machine is the better option. The hotel has an excellent central position, alongside the cathedral and very close to the main shopping/eating locations. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but other members of our party seemed happy with the experience. If you walk back to the hotel from town its worth taking the riverside walk and on to the peaceful and pretty Queens Gardens.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DeeJ158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews