We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Helen F
Christchurch, New Zealand
Special place
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Jan 2014
Beachside Villas Motel provides much more than accommodation. It is a peaceful, beautiful place, stylishly appointed with everything needed for a relaxing and very pleasant holiday. It is immaculately clean, with every detail attended to. The bed was very comfortable. The quietness and privacy made us feel we were staying in our own holiday home. It was only too easy to lounge by the pool in the Tuscan courtyard, or venture on into the hidden garden which was fragrant with herbs, with areas of sun -trap and shady trees. It was easy to imagine we were in Tuscany. It is in a very convenient location near the long beach, ideal for a good walk or a swim.
Our hosts, Gerhard and Andrea were amazing. They are friendly and helpful without being intrusive and just incredibly thoughtful. On my birthday Andrea brought in homemade cake with a candle! We went out each day to tramp, swim, and enjoy Nelson and its surrounds, but coming 'home' each day to this lovely place just made our holiday perfect.
Date of stay: January 2014
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Front of Motel
Booking.com
$162
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • Expedia.com
    $162
0.2 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $218
  • Agoda.com
    $184
  • Expedia.com
    $218
4.3 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$137
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $137
  • Agoda.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $137
4.3 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
Booking.com
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $154
  • Agoda.com
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $134
3.4 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$186
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $186
  • Agoda.com
    $179
  • Expedia.com
    $189
4.5 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $149
4.4 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Entrance
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $150
0.9 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
$62
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $69
  • Agoda.com
    $57
  • Trip.com
    $69
2.6 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$156
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $156
  • Agoda.com
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $156
1.0 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
2.6 km from Beachside Villas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
33
11
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
11
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here last April and plan to stay here again this year. Rooms were very clean. The hosts were awesome very friendly and willing to help out whenever asked.Loved it. We are coming back again. Very friendly and centrally located. Great value. The pool was nice even though we did not swim. The bed was comfortable and the room was very spacious with a stocked kitchenette. There is plenty of parking. And the area is very quiet. Free wi-fi which is always a good thing in New Zealand.

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brook G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 1, a generously large queen room on the ground floor for 3 days over Christmas. The room was smart, clean and well laid out with lots of space. Some areas had been recently upgraded such as the large 3D television and the cooking induction hotplates. Other features such as the microwave and the shower were more dated.

Internet was free and fast. The pool and gardens were shared with the owner's home. The washing/drying facilities are expensive ($5 each for wash and dry). The owner made us feel very welcome with home made cake and lots of advice and even dried our clothes in her drier when the guest drier broke.

The motel is 10 minutes on foot to the beach and about 10 minutes on foot to a few pubs and restaurants. The area is generally quiet except when aircraft are landing or taking off at Nelson Airport.

Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank StevenC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Great accommodations. Comfy beds and nice bathrooms. Very clean. The owner was very pleasant and helpful upon check in. We did several loads of laundry while staying here which was very pricey...$5 per wash and $5 per dry. Later when driving to the grocery store I saw there was a laundromat nearby. If I had it to do over again, I would go to the laundromat. The dryer at the motel was VERY slow. The free Wi-Fi was much appreciated and there was a nice looking pool. Unfortunately, we were too tired from a day of kayaking to put the pool to use.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa27Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I and our young daughter spent 3 nights at the beachside villa.Andrea and gerhard have put a lot of thought and work into making their guests feel so comfortable- from the nicely decorated rooms, to the Tuscan garden where you can help yourself to vine ripened tomatoes. It was so wonderful to lie in the hammock in the garden under an olive tree. It felt like we were staying in a Tuscan villa. We would definitely stay here again next time we are back in sunny nelson. Thanks Andrea and Gerhard for your wonderful hospitality!

Jo, Brett and Lara

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2013

the room itself was very nice, as was the entire motel complex with a large swimming pool and a wonderful garden where we enjoyed a barbque in the sun. Contrarily to our initial concerns about the overhead flight path we found the ambience quiet and tranquil with only the occasional plane overhead and only during the day time. The hosts were very kind and welcoming and we very much enjoyed some of Andreas delicious home made chocolate cake. Would definately reccommend this accommodation to anyone travelling to Nelson.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews