We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Glory A

Exceeded all of our expectations

Review of Pihopa Retreat
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
One of the highlights of our 3 week trip to New Zealand this past March was our stay at the Pihopa Retreat in Nelson. Everything there exceeded our already high expectations. From the room, with its incredibly comfortable bed, thoughtful little surprises everywhere you looked - stocked fridge, teas and treats to enjoy every afternoon, notebook with helpful hints and suggestions, to the evening pre-dinner drinks and snacks, and the waiting complimentary taxi to take us to dinner and back, to the beautiful grounds and facilities (my husband even did some weightlifting in their gym), and the amazing breakfast served in the chapel every morning, we loved every minute of our stay here. Thank you, Sarah, for all your hard work in creating such a wonderful retreat. We will be back!
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah Mellor, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia ora, Thank you so much for taking the time to write an amazing review. We really enjoyed having you to stay at Pihopa Retreat and was lovely to see the Gym getting some use! We look forward to seeing you back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $140
  • Vio.com
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$181
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $167
2.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
$150
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $150
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$107
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $97
  • Expedia.com
    $104
1.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $130
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $130
3.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Tripadvisor
    $196
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $161
  • ZenHotels.com
    $165
3.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $200
  • Expedia.com
    $203
2.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
$189
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
    $170
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $189
5.2 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
loft apartment balcony
$144
    2.8 km from Pihopa Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Nelson
    Reviews (95)
    Filter reviews
    95 results
    Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews dinner reservations afternoon cakes other guests gardens surrounding each evening little touches able tasman national park every amenity extra touches new zealand a wonderful place to stay beautiful room the main house south island abel tasman baking tim
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 95 reviews
    Reviewed 1 June 2024

    The most fabulous stay at Pihopa Retreat. Sarah, Sam & her team make you feel very special, from booking top local restaurants, taxi transfers all after spending time chatting & sharing their expansive travel experiences over pre dinner canapés & drinks. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are fantastic, wine, afternoon tea, big beautiful bathrooms, the lovely small touches (robes, slippers, fireplace) & the best comfy beds all make it a truly wonderful stay. The breakfast in the chapel is a lovely unique touch! A special mention to Nelson Helicopters for a wonderful experience -a must do while visiting Nelson if you can! Thank you! We will be back.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 776suzannet
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Sarah Mellor, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

    Kia ora, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We loved having you stay at Pihopa Retreat and thrilled you were able to experience an outing with Nelson Helicopters! Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 May 2024 via mobile

    Arriving at Pihopa Retreat, we were all immediately captivated by the charm and attention to detail that Sarah and Sam have infused into every aspect of this beautiful haven. I just loved the history of the property and how each detail had been so beautifully restored; the result was enchanting, like stepping into a storybook setting, complete with lush gardens and stunning views. Sarah's warm welcome set the tone for a stay that promised—and delivered—exceptional hospitality. It was definitely the most impressive of all luxury lodges in New Zealand.

    The cottage was outfitted with everything we could possibly want, making it clear that Sarah and Sam anticipate their guests' every need. From the wide selection of teas to delicious baking, not to mention a well-stocked bar, every element was chosen with care. The room was a combination of pure luxury and a cozy retreat; the bed felt like sleeping on a cloud, the beautiful bathroom felt like pure indulgence, not to mention the cozy fireplace to relax in front of in comfortable armchairs.

    The gourmet breakfast in the historic chapel, a beautiful space, added an extra touch of magic to our morning. The chef was fantastic.

    I have never written a review before on TripAdvisor, but this was such a memorable experience that stood out and will be one for the memory banks. Sarah and Sam's exceptional service and the tranquil environment they've created made our visit truly special. We left feeling refreshed and cherished, already planning our next visit to this remarkable retreat. Would give 6 stars if l could.

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    Thank lisamareebuck
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2024

    Kia ora Lisa,

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we really appreciate the 6 stars ;)! We look forward to welcoming you back to Pihopa in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 May 2024 via mobile

    The accommodation was fantastic! Many thanks to Sarah, who leaves nothing to be desired and takes care of everything with great attention to detail.

    The room was very comfortable, large and cozy. The breakfast in the chapel, which is part of the property, was exceptional. A total hit!

    If we come to Nelson again, we will definitely come back to Sarah and her family

    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank B5416NJmariaa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

    Kia ora, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

    When looking for the absolute possible best of everything in Nelson, look no further than Pihopa Retreat! The property is enchanting and Sarah the owner has anticipated your every need and desire! We arrived to a magnificent elegant english feel cottage equipped with complimentary fine teas, huge nespresso variety, Single Malt scotch, port Sherry, Sauvignon Blanc, juices, waters, freshly baked pastries, dark chocolate bar, potato chips and bowl of fresh fruit. There was a printed itinerary in our room with dinner reservations for two nights. We didn’t have to think of a thing! And restaurants were excellent! Lovely books in our room with the most comfortable bed and bedding. You can select from an array of special pillows and a merino wool blanket. The bathroom was lovely with two separate sink areas. No crowding! Evening, cocktails, and appetizers at 6 PM each night and Sarah arranged for a taxi pick up for us with her credit card to pay. Service a lovely, small gym, hot tub, and pool. Breakfast was delicious in the beautiful historic chapel on property. Without us asking, Sarah printed out Google Maps, highlighting routes and activities of the best of Nelson. Everything was perfect. We look forward to coming back next time and bringing friends.

    Room tip: Parking is available right outside your room.
    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank joy s
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

    Kia ora Joy & Bruce, Thank you so much for your gorgeous review of your stay with us. We hope the rest of your NZ trip has been amazing and really look forward to seeing you back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 May 2024

    Pihopa Retreat provides the best personalized experience. Sarah and the staff took very good care of us during our stay. Sarah arranged our dinner reservations and provided conmplemenary taxi service to and from the restaurants. Our room was immaculate and the treats for afternoon tea were a pleasant surprise. Breakfasts in the chapel were delicious. We would highly recommend staying at Phihop Retreat when visiting Nelson. We hope to visit again some day.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jet35147261591
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

    Kia Ora, Thank you so much for reviewing and recommending us! We are thrilled you felt looked after during your stay with us. We hope the remainder of your holiday was amazing. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews