We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lisamareebuck
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

Exceptional experience

Review of Pihopa Retreat
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 May 2024via mobile
Arriving at Pihopa Retreat, we were all immediately captivated by the charm and attention to detail that Sarah and Sam have infused into every aspect of this beautiful haven. I just loved the history of the property and how each detail had been so beautifully restored; the result was enchanting, like stepping into a storybook setting, complete with lush gardens and stunning views. Sarah's warm welcome set the tone for a stay that promised—and delivered—exceptional hospitality. It was definitely the most impressive of all luxury lodges in New Zealand.

The cottage was outfitted with everything we could possibly want, making it clear that Sarah and Sam anticipate their guests' every need. From the wide selection of teas to delicious baking, not to mention a well-stocked bar, every element was chosen with care. The room was a combination of pure luxury and a cozy retreat; the bed felt like sleeping on a cloud, the beautiful bathroom felt like pure indulgence, not to mention the cozy fireplace to relax in front of in comfortable armchairs.

The gourmet breakfast in the historic chapel, a beautiful space, added an extra touch of magic to our morning. The chef was fantastic.

I have never written a review before on TripAdvisor, but this was such a memorable experience that stood out and will be one for the memory banks. Sarah and Sam's exceptional service and the tranquil environment they've created made our visit truly special. We left feeling refreshed and cherished, already planning our next visit to this remarkable retreat. Would give 6 stars if l could.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 19 May 2024
Kia ora Lisa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we really appreciate the 6 stars ;)! We look forward to welcoming you back to Pihopa in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$160
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$272
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$197
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$128
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Priceline
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Algotels
5.2 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
95
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
95
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinner reservations afternoon cakes other guests gardens surrounding each evening little touches able tasman national park every amenity extra touches new zealand a wonderful place to stay beautiful room the main house south island abel tasman baking tim
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2024 via mobile

The accommodation was fantastic! Many thanks to Sarah, who leaves nothing to be desired and takes care of everything with great attention to detail.

The room was very comfortable, large and cozy. The breakfast in the chapel, which is part of the property, was exceptional. A total hit!

If we come to Nelson again, we will definitely come back to Sarah and her family

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank B5416NJmariaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2024

Kia ora, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

When looking for the absolute possible best of everything in Nelson, look no further than Pihopa Retreat! The property is enchanting and Sarah the owner has anticipated your every need and desire! We arrived to a magnificent elegant english feel cottage equipped with complimentary fine teas, huge nespresso variety, Single Malt scotch, port Sherry, Sauvignon Blanc, juices, waters, freshly baked pastries, dark chocolate bar, potato chips and bowl of fresh fruit. There was a printed itinerary in our room with dinner reservations for two nights. We didn’t have to think of a thing! And restaurants were excellent! Lovely books in our room with the most comfortable bed and bedding. You can select from an array of special pillows and a merino wool blanket. The bathroom was lovely with two separate sink areas. No crowding! Evening, cocktails, and appetizers at 6 PM each night and Sarah arranged for a taxi pick up for us with her credit card to pay. Service a lovely, small gym, hot tub, and pool. Breakfast was delicious in the beautiful historic chapel on property. Without us asking, Sarah printed out Google Maps, highlighting routes and activities of the best of Nelson. Everything was perfect. We look forward to coming back next time and bringing friends.

Room tip: Parking is available right outside your room.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank joy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Kia ora Joy & Bruce, Thank you so much for your gorgeous review of your stay with us. We hope the rest of your NZ trip has been amazing and really look forward to seeing you back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

Pihopa Retreat provides the best personalized experience. Sarah and the staff took very good care of us during our stay. Sarah arranged our dinner reservations and provided conmplemenary taxi service to and from the restaurants. Our room was immaculate and the treats for afternoon tea were a pleasant surprise. Breakfasts in the chapel were delicious. We would highly recommend staying at Phihop Retreat when visiting Nelson. We hope to visit again some day.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jet35147261591
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for reviewing and recommending us! We are thrilled you felt looked after during your stay with us. We hope the remainder of your holiday was amazing. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2024

This was by far the most exquisite stay of our trip - a former bishop's residence and grounds. We had an apartment with fireplace, complimentary stocked bar, baked treats each afternoon, breakfast in an old church, cocktails each evening with other guests by the pool. The manager was ever present & kept everything in perfect order with her inviting, friendly manner. Staff was most attentive. We highly recommend it!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Kia Ora Carol & Doug. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We loved having you stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to see you both back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2024

Pihopa Retreat is an amazing place to be. Sarah’s immaculate attention to detail made our stay fabulous. The property is very well looked after. Sarah’s restaurant reservations, advise for day trips, organising taxis made our stay extra special. And not to forget the yummy breakfasts, cakes and pre dinner canapés.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Resort31068382243
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Kia ora, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you run the future for some more yummy breakfasts ;)! Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews