We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Maria A
Braunschweig, Germany

Cozy and very comfortable accommodation

Review of Pihopa Retreat
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2024via mobile
The accommodation was fantastic! Many thanks to Sarah, who leaves nothing to be desired and takes care of everything with great attention to detail.

The room was very comfortable, large and cozy. The breakfast in the chapel, which is part of the property, was exceptional. A total hit!

If we come to Nelson again, we will definitely come back to Sarah and her family
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 12 May 2024
Kia ora, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$193
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $173
  • Vio.com
    $154
  • Priceline
    $193
2.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
$150
  • Expedia.com
    $133
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $132
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$236
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $214
  • Vio.com
    $201
  • Priceline
    $211
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$197
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $214
  • Agoda.com
    $168
  • Priceline
    $197
1.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Priceline
    $130
3.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Hotels.com
    $196
  • Priceline
    $196
3.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $208
  • Priceline
    $215
2.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free parking
Pool
$179
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $179
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
3.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
loft apartment balcony
$144
    2.8 km from Pihopa Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Hotel exterior
    $152
    No prepayment needed
    • Expedia.com
      $152
    • ZenHotels.com
      $150
    • Priceline
      $152
    4.0 km from Pihopa Retreat
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    View more hotels in Nelson
    Reviews (95)
    Filter reviews
    95 results
    Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews dinner reservations afternoon cakes other guests gardens surrounding each evening little touches able tasman national park every amenity extra touches new zealand a wonderful place to stay beautiful room the main house south island abel tasman baking tim
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 95 reviews
    Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

    When looking for the absolute possible best of everything in Nelson, look no further than Pihopa Retreat! The property is enchanting and Sarah the owner has anticipated your every need and desire! We arrived to a magnificent elegant english feel cottage equipped with complimentary fine teas, huge nespresso variety, Single Malt scotch, port Sherry, Sauvignon Blanc, juices, waters, freshly baked pastries, dark chocolate bar, potato chips and bowl of fresh fruit. There was a printed itinerary in our room with dinner reservations for two nights. We didn’t have to think of a thing! And restaurants were excellent! Lovely books in our room with the most comfortable bed and bedding. You can select from an array of special pillows and a merino wool blanket. The bathroom was lovely with two separate sink areas. No crowding! Evening, cocktails, and appetizers at 6 PM each night and Sarah arranged for a taxi pick up for us with her credit card to pay. Service a lovely, small gym, hot tub, and pool. Breakfast was delicious in the beautiful historic chapel on property. Without us asking, Sarah printed out Google Maps, highlighting routes and activities of the best of Nelson. Everything was perfect. We look forward to coming back next time and bringing friends.

    Room tip: Parking is available right outside your room.
    Date of stay: May 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank joy s
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

    Kia ora Joy & Bruce, Thank you so much for your gorgeous review of your stay with us. We hope the rest of your NZ trip has been amazing and really look forward to seeing you back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 May 2024

    Pihopa Retreat provides the best personalized experience. Sarah and the staff took very good care of us during our stay. Sarah arranged our dinner reservations and provided conmplemenary taxi service to and from the restaurants. Our room was immaculate and the treats for afternoon tea were a pleasant surprise. Breakfasts in the chapel were delicious. We would highly recommend staying at Phihop Retreat when visiting Nelson. We hope to visit again some day.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Jet35147261591
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

    Kia Ora, Thank you so much for reviewing and recommending us! We are thrilled you felt looked after during your stay with us. We hope the remainder of your holiday was amazing. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 May 2024

    This was by far the most exquisite stay of our trip - a former bishop's residence and grounds. We had an apartment with fireplace, complimentary stocked bar, baked treats each afternoon, breakfast in an old church, cocktails each evening with other guests by the pool. The manager was ever present & kept everything in perfect order with her inviting, friendly manner. Staff was most attentive. We highly recommend it!

    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank carol t
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

    Kia Ora Carol & Doug. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We loved having you stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to see you both back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 20 April 2024

    Pihopa Retreat is an amazing place to be. Sarah’s immaculate attention to detail made our stay fabulous. The property is very well looked after. Sarah’s restaurant reservations, advise for day trips, organising taxis made our stay extra special. And not to forget the yummy breakfasts, cakes and pre dinner canapés.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Resort31068382243
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

    Kia ora, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you run the future for some more yummy breakfasts ;)! Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 April 2024

    SARAH and Sam are phenomenal hosts. Their attention to detail is exemplary and the accommodations exceeded our expectations. They’ve created an environment of understated elegance, and calm with amenities that are beyond generous, and beyond 5 stars! Having traveled extensively, we've stayed at many luxury boutique hotels, chateaus etc; Pihopa Retreat stands out as an oasis of comfort and grace.
    The suites are beautifully appointed with classic furnishings that are welcoming and not too formal. The "Afternoon Tea" cakes, tarts and homemade oatmeal cookies were delicious as were the breakfasts - best omelette I've ever had - and the evening hors d'oeuvres, also a special treat. In addition, they provided complimentary laundry service and transportation into town. Set in the hills overlooking Nelson, the lovely gardens and landscaping complete this idyllic retreat. If only it was closer to the East Coast of the US, we'd be frequent visitors. Thank you Sarah and Sam!

    Room tip: Just go!
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MG-CT235
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

    Kia Ora and a HUGE thank you for such an amazing review! Although we are a good distance from the East Coast of the US we really hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews