We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
carol t
Columbia, South Carolina

Nelson's best Inn

Review of Pihopa Retreat
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Apr 2024
This was by far the most exquisite stay of our trip - a former bishop's residence and grounds. We had an apartment with fireplace, complimentary stocked bar, baked treats each afternoon, breakfast in an old church, cocktails each evening with other guests by the pool. The manager was ever present & kept everything in perfect order with her inviting, friendly manner. Staff was most attentive. We highly recommend it!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 2 May 2024
Kia Ora Carol & Doug. Thank you for taking the time to review us. We loved having you stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to see you both back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $170
2.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $138
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $138
  • Expedia.com
    $146
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $111
  • Expedia.com
    $138
1.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $128
  • Algotels
3.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $80
  • Priceline
    $90
1.3 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $196
  • Expedia.com
    $218
3.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
    $200
  • Expedia.com
    $215
2.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $204
  • eDreams
3.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
loft apartment balcony
$162
    2.8 km from Pihopa Retreat
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Nelson
    Reviews (95)
    Filter reviews
    95 results
    Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    95
    0
    0
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews dinner reservations afternoon cakes other guests gardens surrounding each evening little touches able tasman national park every amenity extra touches new zealand a wonderful place to stay beautiful room the main house south island abel tasman baking tim
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 95 reviews
    Reviewed 20 April 2024

    Pihopa Retreat is an amazing place to be. Sarah’s immaculate attention to detail made our stay fabulous. The property is very well looked after. Sarah’s restaurant reservations, advise for day trips, organising taxis made our stay extra special. And not to forget the yummy breakfasts, cakes and pre dinner canapés.

    Date of stay: April 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Resort31068382243
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

    Kia ora, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you run the future for some more yummy breakfasts ;)! Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 April 2024

    SARAH and Sam are phenomenal hosts. Their attention to detail is exemplary and the accommodations exceeded our expectations. They’ve created an environment of understated elegance, and calm with amenities that are beyond generous, and beyond 5 stars! Having traveled extensively, we've stayed at many luxury boutique hotels, chateaus etc; Pihopa Retreat stands out as an oasis of comfort and grace.
    The suites are beautifully appointed with classic furnishings that are welcoming and not too formal. The "Afternoon Tea" cakes, tarts and homemade oatmeal cookies were delicious as were the breakfasts - best omelette I've ever had - and the evening hors d'oeuvres, also a special treat. In addition, they provided complimentary laundry service and transportation into town. Set in the hills overlooking Nelson, the lovely gardens and landscaping complete this idyllic retreat. If only it was closer to the East Coast of the US, we'd be frequent visitors. Thank you Sarah and Sam!

    Room tip: Just go!
    Date of stay: March 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MG-CT235
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2024

    Kia Ora and a HUGE thank you for such an amazing review! Although we are a good distance from the East Coast of the US we really hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 April 2024

    By far one of the top places we have stayed at in all of our travel to over 15 countries. The owner Sarah’s hospitality and attention to detail (afternoon treats, making advance restaurant bookings, arranging complimentary taxis, breakfast table items, even doing a load of laundry, the list goes on) was the most immaculate part of the experience. It overshadowed the fact that the rooms were also beautiful and in a picturesque estate. Would not miss out if you can stay here.

    Room tip: Must stay here
    Date of stay: April 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sm-sh2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

    Kia ora Smital, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. We loved hosting your family and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back in Nelson in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 April 2024

    Just WOW! This was our favorite place over a six-week vacation in New Zealand and Australia. Only sorry we couldn't stay more than 2 nights. As others have noted, it is perfection. The property -- once an Anglican retreat and college -- has been lovingly and beautifully restored and adapted into a luxurious hotel/5-star B&B. There are only six suites and they are spacious, with every amenity one could think of, and bathrooms to die for. Sarah, innkeeper extraordinaire, is a most gracious and warm host and thinks of everything. Rooms include a complimentary drinks/food bar with good wine, all kinds of treats, coffee, tea and fresh milk, and heavenly pastries baked fresh daily. The beds are beyond comfy and curling up in the leather armchairs before a gas fire each evening, wine in hand, was a delightful way to end the day.

    Sarah makes reservations for dinner and cabs to and from the town are complimentary. The on-site breakfast is sumptuous, served in the original church, and a wine and canapes hour every evening was another treat. There's also a heated pool, a wonderful spot to relax after a day of activity. I can't say enough about the uniqueness of this place and only wish it were closer to the U.S. so I could visit regularly. If you're planning to be in Nelson and the Abel Tasman Park area, this is THE place to stay.

    Room tip: Book early -- only six suites. All are fabulous.
    Date of stay: February 2024
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank luxlovernyc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2024

    Kia ora, Thank you SO much for your wonderful review. We absolutely love that we were your favourite place to stay on this trip! We hope the remainder of your holiday was fabulous and really hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

    Pihopa has the wow factor ! A warm welcome awaits at this amazing retreat. The rooms are sumptuous, with every amenity and treat such as delicious cake to have with afternoon tea. The view from our balcony was amazing, the vista taking you through trees down to the sea. Everything has been thought of to make your stay memorable and the host, Sarah goes the extra mile to make your time at this amazing place feel extra special. Breakfasts were just incredible - a feast for the eyes. We really enjoyed the complimentary drinks and canapés at 6pm in the pool house. A complimentary taxi would arrive to whisk you to dinner in town and was there to bring you back again. We loved every minute of our stay here and hope to be back soon!

    Date of stay: April 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank AliRounc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2024

    Kia ora Alison & Tony,

    Thank you so much for your amazing review. We loved having you to stay and hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)! Ngā mihi, Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews