We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Teri L
Sherman Oaks, CA

Best Hotel Ever!

Review of Pihopa Retreat
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2024
This place is magical and without a doubt a must stay if anywhere near Nelson! We were amazed! There are only 6 rooms, cabins really. Immaculate, comfortable, modern, private and perfect! The service is 5 star.
Breakfast is included and very special, served in a chapel on grounds, evening appetizers are served in the pool house and are plentiful, every day in your room there are homemade desserts.
Because there is no restaurant on site, they make reservations for you at terrific restaurants and so that you don’t have to drive, you are given a debit card to pay a taxi to pick you up and bring you back at their expense. Amazing service.
This place doesn’t skimp on anything, service, food, comfort.
One evening we were too tired to go out to eat so we asked if we could just have cheese and crackers, Sarah had way more than cheese and crackers prepared for us and there was no charge when we checked out.
Best place we stayed and most memorable.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: You can’t go wrong here.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this review
Responded 5 Apr 2024
Kia ora, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope the rest of your time in New Zealand was amazing and hope to welcome you back in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$170
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $152
  • Hotels.com
    $145
  • Expedia.com
    $153
2.5 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$202
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $198
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $198
3.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Priceline
2.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$230
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $248
2.6 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $130
3.4 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
$177
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $177
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $177
3.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$152
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Tripadvisor
    $215
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Pihopa Retreat
Pool
Restaurant
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
$183
Fully refundable
  • Official Site
  • Agoda.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $183
5.2 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
loft apartment balcony
$162
  • Agoda.com
2.8 km from Pihopa Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
95
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
95
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dinner reservations afternoon cakes other guests gardens surrounding each evening little touches able tasman national park every amenity extra touches new zealand a wonderful place to stay beautiful room the main house south island abel tasman baking tim
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2024

This place goes above and beyond to make your stay relaxing. Everything is thought through with care and attention to detail. We arrived in the late afternoon, to a warm welcome, room full to the brim with treats and a very handy table reservation and taxi booked. Nothing to do but go for a swim and enjoy the spectacular views! I could go on and on but better find out for yourselves. Thank you so much!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NaylaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Kia ora Nayla, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope the rest of your adventures have been amazing and our Pihopa Bear is keeping Theo good company ;). Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2024

We cannot recommend Pihopa enough! The service is impeccable, the food delicious, the rooms have every amenity you could wish for. We have traveled the world and stayed in many wonderful places and Pihopa is at the top of our accommodations list.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonora w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2024

Kia ora, Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to welcome you back in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

A wonderful retreat, beautiful location, suite, and breakfast, a peaceful oasis. Sarah’s attention to detail is brilliant (the afternoon treats were such a surprise when we arrived back from her suggested sightseeing), and loved her dinner venues in Nelson (and the complimentary Uber, both ways). Pihopa suited us perfectly for our few days.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank F6997YUfrankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Kia Ora, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially Chef Nati's delicious afternoon treats! We hop the rest of your holiday was brilliant. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

Sarah, Annie and the rest of the staff treated us like family for the three days we were there. The accommodations were fantastic but the extras made this a memorable stay. From scrumptious homemade bakery and fresh fruit in the room every day to the morning breakfast and evening cocktails, everything was exquisite. The retreat is set back from the road in a beautiful, private location. Ideal for couples who don’t mind paying a little more for an unforgettable experience.

Room tip: If you pass the caltex petrol station on the way in from the airport, you have missed the entrance
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paulsO9832JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024

Treat yourself to the Pihopa Retreat! Beyond relaxing with incredible attention to EVERY single detail and service. The owners, the Mellors ,and staff are so very gracious and their hospitality absolutely unmatched. You’ll never forget this amazing experience.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pihopa Retreat, Owner at Pihopa Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Kia Ora, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the remainder of your holiday was amazing. Ngā mihi Sarah & The Pihopa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews