We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRAVEL AGENT REVIEW:”
Review of Gourmet Sailing

Gourmet Sailing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer private yacht charters around the stunning Abel Tasman National Park in the South Island of New Zealand, with comfortable on-board accommodation for overnight trips. Experience unparalleled service and exceptional cuisine.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“TRAVEL AGENT REVIEW:”
Reviewed 16 December 2014

We had a staff party on board the luxury boat for my partners staff party (NZ Commercials), & it was by far the most memorable dinning experience iv ever had in NZ!! The hosts Milo & Kimberly were so friendly, welcoming and professional, they supplied everything you could possible need and gave us a few laughs along the way. I highly recommend their sailing for any special occasion.

Visited December 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo C, Owner at Gourmet Sailing, responded to this review, 2 November 2015
Thank you for trusting Gourmet Sailing with your staff function. You have a great team, and it was fun seeing everyone get into the theme. We really appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor, and feel quite honoured that this was your most memorable dinning experience in NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Wild was simply brilliant!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We ended our already amazing holiday in New Zealand with a 3 day trip on Simply Wild with Gourmet Sailing. We could not have asked for a better experience! We had a few email exchanges with Milo to plan the trip and choose activities that would make our time sailing personal (every excursion is customized). Kimberly arranged to meet us at the Nelson airport (where we dropped our rental car), and then drove us to the beach to board the yacht--a beautiful spacious boat with large cabins complete with a bathroom (including shower) in each. We were in the most capable of hands with our captain, Claire and stewardess, Kimberly. We spent each evening in a different quiet anchorage in the Abel Tasman Park. The meals were outstanding and the service impeccable (and the sights and sounds pretty special, too!). Our days were filled with kayaking, hiking, sailing and even a private gourmet lunch on the beach! Claire and Kimberly are really knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the park, and had lots of tips about places to hike when we went ashore to the Abel Tasman Coastal Track. We were lucky enough to see blue penguins, a large pod of dolphins, seals, goats (on the Track) and lots and lots of different birds. After a lovely long sail across the bay on our third day, Kimberly took us back to the airport (after a quick stop to say goodbye to Milo as well as a stop at the local market for Tim Tams!) where she waited with us to be sure we were indeed checked in for our flight. Thank you to Milo, Kimberly, Claire and Angela for making us feel so very special and like family all at once...it was an absolutely brilliant way to end our trip!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo C, Owner at Gourmet Sailing, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for the review Karen. We promised you would be the most relaxed people on your flight home, and we are glad to hear you felt your cruise with Gourmet Sailing was so worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing evening harbour cruise in Nelson. We felt truely spoilt, thank u to Milo and crew. We will be recommending you, it was absolute bliss!

Helpful?
3 Thank melnz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo C, Owner at Gourmet Sailing, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We had a lot of fun organising your cruise, and it was great getting to know you folks. Thank you for the review. We look forward to hearing more about your adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Milo and his team really go above and beyond to make sure you have an outstanding experience. It's hard to imagine how they could outshine the beautiful part of the world they work in, but they seem to manage it. A lovely boat, fabulous food and really world class service made for an amazing day we will never forget. Thank you Brian, Hilary, Annabel and of course Milo for showing us Abel Tasman and making us (and our one year old son) feel so very special. We'll be back

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo C, Owner at Gourmet Sailing, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Ruth, thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you all enjoyed your trip. It was great meeting you, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Utterly world class”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

These guys are consummate professionals who offer an experience that is second to none. I was fortunate enough to enjoy the "works do" to beat all works do's, courtesy of my wife's business. Thirty of us spent a full day being hosted by Milo and his crew cruising Tasman Bay and the Abel Tasman National Park. Despite having sailed my own boat from the UK to NZ I was deeply impressed and even humbled by the understated level of experience and competence of these guys. Never mind their competence as sailors (two of the hostesses, still in their early 20's have sailed the Southern Ocean and circumnavigated the globe aboard small yachts), but many top class restaurants could also learn a lot from these guys: The food was superb and served in an extremely slick and unobtrusive manner. To be served the standard of food we enjoyed was impressive in any environment but to have it taken to the beach in a small dinghy and then served in such style was quite simply brilliant. Thank you Milo and your crew for an unforgettable day. I can't recommend you highly enough.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milo C, Owner at Gourmet Sailing, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip. Our crew loves to hear how they did. It was a typical gorgeous day in the Abel Tasman National Park, and It was a privilege to share it with people who really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gourmet Sailing also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Gourmet Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing