We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
dale481
Whangaroa

Pleasant overnight stay in quiet area

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Mar 2016via mobile
Two NZ adults and 8 yr old granddaughter on overnight stay in two bedroom unit - quiet, clean and tidy with adequate facilities. Host friendly & welcoming, thank you. Outdoor pool fun. Not sure what the bad reviews were about as we found all very pleasant!
Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Hotels.com
    $150
  • Priceline
    $150
0.9 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$126
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $126
  • Hotels.com
    $126
  • Priceline
    $126
0.9 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $120
  • Vio.com
    $120
  • Hotels.com
    $120
0.9 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$173
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $156
1.5 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$355
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $356
  • Agoda.com
    $267
  • Hotels.com
    $355
0.6 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
Booking.com
$144
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Hotels.com
    $143
2.1 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Palms
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $180
1.2 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $153
  • Hotels.com
    $167
1.7 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$160
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
2.8 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $218
  • Agoda.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $218
1.4 km from Milton Chalet Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
3
11
5
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
11
5
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016

While providing the basic amenities as advertised, the reality was really disappointing. The first overwhelming impression was a stuffy old cigarette smell clinging to a very tired old carpet, everything felt tacky and outdated. No soap/handwash in the washroom/shower was the last straw. I wouldn't recommend this at all, and it wasn't cheap either. Don't bother.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandGCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2016

We stayed two nights and paid $38 each per night for a unit that slept 4- 6 people. There were quite a few ants about in the kitchens but in another unit a person got a bed full of ants. Upstairs in the chalets has very squeaky floors. The pool needed a clean but was warm and relaxing.

Room tip: Single story motels are quieter
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

A very expensive motel to have ants and rooms not been cleaned every day.

I've been here for 5 nights and since the first day I noticed that the cleaners aren't working well. We were 4, and only one room was cleaned per day.

The very first day, one of our beds were entirely covered by ants, and things were just at the beginning!

I can add, dogs poo not been cleaned on the outside garden, vacuum cleaner not been used in in 5 days and dirty dishes.

The sink exploded.

Towels weren't given all days for the 4 of us.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lupovero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

This place is old, ugly, lacking in basic amenities, and poorly designed. While it met our basic needs (clean beds, shower, and toilet), we were not happy with our stay. The accommodations, service, and location were all lousy.

Our unit was unattractive and had not been updated since the 1970s at the latest. The bathroom flooring was discolored and dirty in the corners. There was no milk provided (unlike every other place we've stayed in NZ), the teabags weren't refilled on the second day of our stay, our fridge was off when we arrived, and there weren't enough plugs in kitchen (you couldn't use the tea kettle, microwave, and fridge at the same time). Also, there was no shampoo and conditioner provided.

Additionally, the dresser drawers in the bedroom didn't come out without being pulled hard, and the dresser mirror was so low that we had to squat a bit to see our faces (and we're average height).

Upstairs, there were two additional beds, but no mirror and no closets or wardrobe - this was inconvenient for the members of our family sleeping there.

Also, they only give you 60 minutes of free internet, which is insufficient.

The service at reception was unpleasant. Dudley, the receptionist, was a bit rude and was not forthcoming with local advice. He certainly did not try to make us feel welcome.

The location wasn't the greatest either - it's a 20 minute walk downtown.

Overall, this place sucks. I don't recommend it.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Barnali03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We stayed in the cheapest room - expecting something small we were very surprised to find the rooms absolutely huge!! We had a seperate bedroom that could be closed off from the lounge and kitchen area with venetian doors, - full kitchen with stove and appliances. large bathroom with seperate toilet. The owners were very friendly and were doing some painting and renovating on some rooms while we were there - but didnt disturb us at all. our room was decorated in an older style, but with modern furnature - but we found it to be absolutely charming

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 202leesaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews