We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Monaco Kitchen

The Monaco Kitchen
Ranked #18 of 213 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$28
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Monaco Kitchen is in a well-known location on the Monaco peninsula (Nelson, New Zealand), presenting a new dining concept in a stunning location. Championing our local produce we aim to provide a sharing experience with small bites, sharing plates and feasts that you can enjoy with your friends, family or your sweetheart
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful grounds. They offer a buffet breakfast in the weekend which is a great selection. Staff are nice and friendly.

1  Thank 546sherrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Hi there 54sherrid

Thanks for your review/feedback, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay, great to know you found our staff nice and friendly.

We offer a buffet breakfast (and a la carte breakfast) from 6.30am - 10am 7 days a week.

We hope to see you back again when you next visit the beautiful Nelson/Tasman region.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We had the pleasure of eating at TMK and what a treat. Our waitresses Ashleigh and Izzie were so friendly and fun. We had a sharing meal of lamb and my husband is a big eater and even he was full by the end of the meal. Quality food and great service. Compliments to the chef. We felt valued as customers and would definitely come back here and recommend to friends. Scotty and Raewyn. P.s they even do proper pints of beer which is a bonus :-)

1  Thank Raewyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Scotty and Raewyn

Thanks guys for your terrific review/feedback, we're delighted that you had such a great dining experience with us recently. Thanks for mentioning that Ashleigh and Izzie looked after you in a friendly/fun fashion. Great to know that Scotty enjoyed a great quality meal accompanied by great service.

We look forward to seeing the two of you back again sometime soon - bring some friends!

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at The Monaco Kitchen

PS.... proper pints of beer? Is there any other sort?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Amazing staff, who make you feel welcome the minute you arrive, the food is fantastic and you will be looking for excuses to stay, before returning to your exquisite room.

1  Thank ScottK2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Hi Scott K

Wow - thanks for the amazing review/feedback - it's fantastic to read how much you enjoyed your recent dining experience in The Monaco Kitchen whilst staying with us at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco.

It really is great to hear that you were looked after from the moment you arrived and that you almost didn't want to leave.

I trust your next visit will be every bit as pleasant as your previous one and we look forward to see you real soon!

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Weren’t too sure about the sharing meals, so went for a main each, and what a meal! Beautiful steak, onion chops and fries. Starters were fantastic too.

Hadn’t been here before even though we’re local, it’s a little out if the way but worth the visit. Awesome staff, nice relaxed atmosphere, and food was perfect.

1  Thank Whoppeecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Whoppeecock

Thanks for your feedback/review - it's great to hear from a local and to know you've now discovered a great place to dine in your own back yard! Seriously, great to read that you really enjoyed your dining and that the food, atmosphere and staff were all spot on. We look forward to seeing you back again and again!

I've shared your feedback with the team at TMK - they'll be delighted.

Warm regards
Nick
On behalf of the entire team at The Monaco Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

We’re Nelson locals and really enjoyed our dinner. The food was amazing and the staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the pork belly. The mains were huge

1  Thank emelliamclaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi there emelliamclaren

Thanks for your review/feedback - we love it when locals discover what a great experience is waiting for them in their own backyard!

It was a pleasure to read that you had such a great experience with amazing food and friendly/helpful staff.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime real soon.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at The Monaco Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monaco Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Monaco Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing