We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
94
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city lights sunshine cottage farm animals grandma's cottage feed the animals farm stay tasman bay this wonderful place own meals great hosts two nights nelson town centre rachel property kitchen accommodations
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

My two adult kids and I stayed in the City Lights cottage for two nights. Sue was my contact via email and Rachel was my point of contact once we arrived. Both were very sweet and helpful and communicated in a timely manner.

The view is absolutely amazing! The first thing we did was walk around the farm and feed the animals with bread that was supplied. Such a nice thing to do after a long morning of travel. Our cottage had fresh wild flowers and a little sign welcoming us by name. All beds and furniture were comfortable and clean. Kitchen was well stocked for cooking your own meals.

Probably the best part of our stay (other than the fabulous view) was when we were sitting on the porch drinking coffee our first morning and two kid goats came running over to great us. So cute!! Also their dogs came for friendly visits throughout our stay. A very special space that has a good feel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank barbaramT5079PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Harris Hill for the first time in 2015 for 4 weeks; returning in 2017 we made it for six weeks; and, we certainly hope it will not be our last visit to this wonderful place. The Harris family, Sue, Mike, Rachel, and Wayne, are wonderful hosts who make you feel very at home while spending time on their hillside farm. Cabins are scattered over the hilltop with wonderful views of the Tasman Bay, and the small city of Nelson. While the accommodations are modest, they are also very charming, well appointed, and absolutely comfortable. The farm is a short 10 minute drive to Nelson for shopping needs. Nelson itself is a lovely little city, and well located as a central base for outdoor enthusiasts with Abel Tasman and Golden Bay to the West, Nelson Lakes to the South, and Marlborough Sound and the Queen Charlottes to the East. We would highly recommend Harris Hill Cottages as a genuine little treasure !

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JKM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

There were four of us (two couples) who stayed at Maggie's cottage. It was such an enjoyable experience. When we arrived Rachel was very helpful in getting us settled and told us we could go to the "bread shack" the next day and retrieve some goodies for the sheep and goats--and since it was a rainy, wet day, we did just that. What a hoot it is to be around a true farm family and setting. And the setting is gorgeous. Small canyons behind and a panoramic view of the Tasman Bay over to Abel Tasman in front of you. Very small kitchen and "quaint", so don't plan on a nice big luxurious suite. It was a highlight of our trip. We will remember that family and their animals for a long time!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Our family of 3 stayed for 2 nights after arriving off the ferry from North Island.
We stayed in great places throughout our holiday, but this had to be the best.
Sunshine cottage just felt like a little home: well equipped, cosy and comfy, outstanding views. The best thing for me was to be able to walk out of the cottage and go for a lovely walk without even getting in the car.
Great hosts.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank ricardhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is the 5th year in a row that we have rented Grandma's Cottage on Harris Hill. (This time it was for 2 1/2 months). Obviously we love it here. We keep coming back because the setting is beautiful and exquisitely peaceful, it is very conveniently located for trips in to Nelson, Sue, Mike, Rachel and Wayne are delightful, cheerful and extremely helpful hosts and the cottage is very comfortable and well appointed. .... we are looking forward to year 6.

Room Tip: We keep renting Grandma's cottage ... but all of the others are equally lovely
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CanadianRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews