We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for peace and tranquillity, with the added bonus of farm animals for the kids to feed.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harris Hill Cottages
Ranked #11 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Just a few minutes drive from Nelson town centre, there are cottages perched on a hill over-looking Nelson Bay with lovely sea views and also views back to Nelson town.

The cottages we stayed in were joined, but private, with one having 3 double bedrooms and the other, one double bedroom with a couple of small bunks tacked on for kids.

Both fully equipped, clean and modern and overseen by Sue and Rachael, and nothing was too much trouble for them in order to make your stay perfect.

As an added bonus there were two small ponies, four goats and numerous chickens to feed......just right to keep the kids (and a few adults) happy!

Oh, and two BBQs to enjoy some outside eating and happy days.

Room Tip: Not a hotel but cottages with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrisHill23, Owner at Harris Hill Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hello Phil,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your time spent at Harris Hill. We love hearing about the experiences shared here and are so happy to hear that you managed to enjoy the animals and all the facilities we have to offer.
We hope to have you back on the hill again sometime as you were perfect guest in which we love to host.
All the best for 2018 and your travels ahead.

Sue Harris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2018

My two adult kids and I stayed in the City Lights cottage for two nights. Sue was my contact via email and Rachel was my point of contact once we arrived. Both were very sweet and helpful and communicated in a timely manner.

The view is absolutely amazing! The first thing we did was walk around the farm and feed the animals with bread that was supplied. Such a nice thing to do after a long morning of travel. Our cottage had fresh wild flowers and a little sign welcoming us by name. All beds and furniture were comfortable and clean. Kitchen was well stocked for cooking your own meals.

Probably the best part of our stay (other than the fabulous view) was when we were sitting on the porch drinking coffee our first morning and two kid goats came running over to great us. So cute!! Also their dogs came for friendly visits throughout our stay. A very special space that has a good feel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank barbaramT5079PF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Harris Hill for the first time in 2015 for 4 weeks; returning in 2017 we made it for six weeks; and, we certainly hope it will not be our last visit to this wonderful place. The Harris family, Sue, Mike, Rachel, and Wayne, are wonderful hosts who make you feel very at home while spending time on their hillside farm. Cabins are scattered over the hilltop with wonderful views of the Tasman Bay, and the small city of Nelson. While the accommodations are modest, they are also very charming, well appointed, and absolutely comfortable. The farm is a short 10 minute drive to Nelson for shopping needs. Nelson itself is a lovely little city, and well located as a central base for outdoor enthusiasts with Abel Tasman and Golden Bay to the West, Nelson Lakes to the South, and Marlborough Sound and the Queen Charlottes to the East. We would highly recommend Harris Hill Cottages as a genuine little treasure !

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JKM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

There were four of us (two couples) who stayed at Maggie's cottage. It was such an enjoyable experience. When we arrived Rachel was very helpful in getting us settled and told us we could go to the "bread shack" the next day and retrieve some goodies for the sheep and goats--and since it was a rainy, wet day, we did just that. What a hoot it is to be around a true farm family and setting. And the setting is gorgeous. Small canyons behind and a panoramic view of the Tasman Bay over to Abel Tasman in front of you. Very small kitchen and "quaint", so don't plan on a nice big luxurious suite. It was a highlight of our trip. We will remember that family and their animals for a long time!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Our family of 3 stayed for 2 nights after arriving off the ferry from North Island.
We stayed in great places throughout our holiday, but this had to be the best.
Sunshine cottage just felt like a little home: well equipped, cosy and comfy, outstanding views. The best thing for me was to be able to walk out of the cottage and go for a lovely walk without even getting in the car.
Great hosts.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank ricardhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
8.6 km away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
17 reviews
6.4 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
5.4 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
714 reviews
12 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
9.6 km away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#4 of 42 in Nelson
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hill Cottages

Address: 23 Wastney Tce | Atawhai, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our spectacular sea and mountain views from private cottage accomodation with 475 acres of farm land & only 10 mins to Nelson city, you would think you were in another world. Our farm is family owned and family run. We enjoy showing our guests our stunning property and love seeing them enjoy and interact with our super friendly tame up close farm animals. Fantastic property offering fabulous holiday stays suitable for all ages. Huge sea views, native bush walking trails, private setting, working farm with a variety of animals, yet only 10 minutes from the city centre. We love guests who love sea views, want some privacy with quality accomodation, enjoy tranquility and would love to experience a farm stay and yet be close to the city and all its amenities. Our mile long drive is part of the experience of Harris Hill. Stop, take a photo, take a breath and continue on up to the plateau where our accommodation is located. Guest tell us they think they have arrived in Heaven. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing