We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
95
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city lights farm animals feed the animals farm stay own meals two nights nelson town centre rachel property kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We visited Harris Hill for the first time in 2015 for 4 weeks; returning in 2017 we made it for six weeks; and, we certainly hope it will not be our last visit to this wonderful place. The Harris family, Sue, Mike, Rachel, and Wayne, are wonderful hosts who make you feel very at home while spending time on their hillside farm. Cabins are scattered over the hilltop with wonderful views of the Tasman Bay, and the small city of Nelson. While the accommodations are modest, they are also very charming, well appointed, and absolutely comfortable. The farm is a short 10 minute drive to Nelson for shopping needs. Nelson itself is a lovely little city, and well located as a central base for outdoor enthusiasts with Abel Tasman and Golden Bay to the West, Nelson Lakes to the South, and Marlborough Sound and the Queen Charlottes to the East. We would highly recommend Harris Hill Cottages as a genuine little treasure !

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JKM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

There were four of us (two couples) who stayed at Maggie's cottage. It was such an enjoyable experience. When we arrived Rachel was very helpful in getting us settled and told us we could go to the "bread shack" the next day and retrieve some goodies for the sheep and goats--and since it was a rainy, wet day, we did just that. What a hoot it is to be around a true farm family and setting. And the setting is gorgeous. Small canyons behind and a panoramic view of the Tasman Bay over to Abel Tasman in front of you. Very small kitchen and "quaint", so don't plan on a nice big luxurious suite. It was a highlight of our trip. We will remember that family and their animals for a long time!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Our family of 3 stayed for 2 nights after arriving off the ferry from North Island.
We stayed in great places throughout our holiday, but this had to be the best.
Sunshine cottage just felt like a little home: well equipped, cosy and comfy, outstanding views. The best thing for me was to be able to walk out of the cottage and go for a lovely walk without even getting in the car.
Great hosts.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank ricardhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is the 5th year in a row that we have rented Grandma's Cottage on Harris Hill. (This time it was for 2 1/2 months). Obviously we love it here. We keep coming back because the setting is beautiful and exquisitely peaceful, it is very conveniently located for trips in to Nelson, Sue, Mike, Rachel and Wayne are delightful, cheerful and extremely helpful hosts and the cottage is very comfortable and well appointed. .... we are looking forward to year 6.

Room Tip: We keep renting Grandma's cottage ... but all of the others are equally lovely
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CanadianRetirees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Our cottage had a really beautiful view and was well-equipped apart from the very worn out dish cleaner which we quickly replaced. We stayed a week and really enjoyed the feeling of being away from the hussle and bustle of the centre of Nelson. It was also pretty special have the dogs and chickens visit us each day. We'd definitely go back ... next time I would however double check the cost as there was a little confusion about that.

This is a great place to stay if you want to be within a 10 minute drive of central Nelson but also want to be somewhere quiet with panoramic views.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews