We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harris Hill Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nelson
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
95
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity lightssunshine cottagefarm animalsgrandma's cottagewashing machinefeed the animalstasman bayfarm stayminute drivegreat base for exploringfond memoriesthis wonderful placeown mealswonderful hostshighlight of our triptwo nightsnelson town centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We were late arriving due to the recent earthquake causing a delay in the ferry arrival to Picton. We ended up arriving at 10 PM. Sue was very considerate and welcoming. She drove down from the hill to meet us at the turnoff from the highway (SH 6). Upon finding out that we haven't eaten, she brought us bread, biscuits, butter, honey, jam and tomatoes.
The next morning, we woke up to see the most beautiful view we can imagine. You can see the ocean, bay, the town below, and the rolling hills with all kinds of farm animals.
Sue helped us fed the friendly and cute sheep, pig (one), horses, cattle and even chicken.
The one bedroom cottage we stayed at is called "Suntop". It has amazing view. Bed was very comfortable. It is in excellent shape, and the bathroom has a washing machine.
Walking around the property around dusk is a wonderful experience. The sunset is wonderful.
Later on we met Rachel, who is also super nice. We would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eigerhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Stayed here for two memorable weeks when we emigrated toi nz five years ago. Having never set foot in the country we arrived with our four children, aged 8 - 14 tired and a little uncertain. As soon as we arrived at harris hill we knew we had made the right decision. Such a friendly kiwi welcome and the views....absolutely amazing. Sue was so helpful from arranging a food pack to providing information on the area, schools etc. It was a really special time, that we all still speak of fondly today. Will never foget harris hill!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CARozga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Brilliant and highly recommended! The cottages are immaculate both in construction and cleanliness and are fully self contained. Our 'Grandma's Cottage' had the added benefit of very inquisitive wooly neighbours looking through the windows from the paddock just a couple of metres away. Rachel, Mike and Sue are happy to have a chat and just as happy to leave guests to their peaceful seclusion. The views are amazing and the farm is surprisingly close to Nelson. This is a great base for exploring the Nelson / Tasman area and I only wish we had decided to do more day trips from here rather than move on to Golden Bay. Added (no charge) extras include high speed WiFi, beautiful views and lots of sheep, lambs, goats, pigs, dogs, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Somewhere on the other side of the world is the most beautiful farm with wonderful cottages and a happy kind family who welcome you so warmly.
We had some difficulty booking but Sue kindly fitted us in. Rachel gave us a very warm welcome on a rainy evening in February. City Lights is beautiful, with a breath taking view, so well equipped and clean. We fed the goats daily and enjoyed watching them run up from the lower fields to be fed. We really did feel like part of this lovely family and I was tearful when we left. Thank you Sue and Rachel for your kindness.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dolphindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Harris Hill Cottages is an amazing place to stay with family. Our 2 year old son loved feeding the animals and seeing the cows and sheep graze nearby. The family dogs are the friendless dogs I've ever met and it's a different experience to city life seeing chickens walk past the front door in the morning.

We stayed in Maggies cottage and the view out to the water is breathtaking! To see water in one direction, hills and countryside in another and be 10 minutes from town is a unique experience.

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone with a couple days to explore Nelson or if you just want a relaxing time around the farm.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank nettygrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews