We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring the Nelson area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harris Hill Cottages
Ranked #10 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Our cottage had a really beautiful view and was well-equipped apart from the very worn out dish cleaner which we quickly replaced. We stayed a week and really enjoyed the feeling of being away from the hussle and bustle of the centre of Nelson. It was also pretty special have the dogs and chickens visit us each day. We'd definitely go back ... next time I would however double check the cost as there was a little confusion about that.

This is a great place to stay if you want to be within a 10 minute drive of central Nelson but also want to be somewhere quiet with panoramic views.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2016

We were late arriving due to the recent earthquake causing a delay in the ferry arrival to Picton. We ended up arriving at 10 PM. Sue was very considerate and welcoming. She drove down from the hill to meet us at the turnoff from the highway (SH 6). Upon finding out that we haven't eaten, she brought us bread, biscuits, butter, honey, jam and tomatoes.
The next morning, we woke up to see the most beautiful view we can imagine. You can see the ocean, bay, the town below, and the rolling hills with all kinds of farm animals.
Sue helped us fed the friendly and cute sheep, pig (one), horses, cattle and even chicken.
The one bedroom cottage we stayed at is called "Suntop". It has amazing view. Bed was very comfortable. It is in excellent shape, and the bathroom has a washing machine.
Walking around the property around dusk is a wonderful experience. The sunset is wonderful.
Later on we met Rachel, who is also super nice. We would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eigerhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Stayed here for two memorable weeks when we emigrated toi nz five years ago. Having never set foot in the country we arrived with our four children, aged 8 - 14 tired and a little uncertain. As soon as we arrived at harris hill we knew we had made the right decision. Such a friendly kiwi welcome and the views....absolutely amazing. Sue was so helpful from arranging a food pack to providing information on the area, schools etc. It was a really special time, that we all still speak of fondly today. Will never foget harris hill!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CARozga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Brilliant and highly recommended! The cottages are immaculate both in construction and cleanliness and are fully self contained. Our 'Grandma's Cottage' had the added benefit of very inquisitive wooly neighbours looking through the windows from the paddock just a couple of metres away. Rachel, Mike and Sue are happy to have a chat and just as happy to leave guests to their peaceful seclusion. The views are amazing and the farm is surprisingly close to Nelson. This is a great base for exploring the Nelson / Tasman area and I only wish we had decided to do more day trips from here rather than move on to Golden Bay. Added (no charge) extras include high speed WiFi, beautiful views and lots of sheep, lambs, goats, pigs, dogs, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macham17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Somewhere on the other side of the world is the most beautiful farm with wonderful cottages and a happy kind family who welcome you so warmly.
We had some difficulty booking but Sue kindly fitted us in. Rachel gave us a very warm welcome on a rainy evening in February. City Lights is beautiful, with a breath taking view, so well equipped and clean. We fed the goats daily and enjoyed watching them run up from the lower fields to be fed. We really did feel like part of this lovely family and I was tearful when we left. Thank you Sue and Rachel for your kindness.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dolphindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.4 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
5.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
703 reviews
5.4 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
16 reviews
12 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
5.5 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hill Cottages

Address: 23 Wastney Tce | Atawhai, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing