We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL FARM STAY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harris Hill Cottages
Ranked #10 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 10 March 2016

We had a family reunion at Harris Hill in Maggie's Cottage. Two groups came in from Vancouver and Toronto to find a super cottage, welcoming and fully stocked with all our requirements. The children loved the animals, and the freedom of the farm to roam around and feed all the animals including the very ugly pig. The Harris family made us very welcome and we felt like part of the farm for our stay. Thanks Sue and Rachel for all the details, and Mike and Wayne for putting up with roaming around. A special thank you to Pristan and Ashton playing with our grand daughter and allowing her to pet the baby goat !

Room Tip: This is a short drive outside of Nelson, up a twisting road, but the view was well worth for winding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandiewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2016

After hearing lots of raves and compliments about this place from my family members who have visited Nelson - Harris Hill Cottage, my husband and I booked a 3 nights stay at City Lights as part of our New Zealand Honeymoon trip. It was indeed the best 3 nights we ever had in New Zealand!

We were warmly welcomed by Rachel one rainy night as she brought us to our cottage and introduced the facilities and all to us. In our cottage there was a sweet hand-written note by Sue and her family welcoming us! They made the best host we ever had and staying here made us feel like we have known them for ages. Rachel even invited us for her son's birthday party the next day afternoon.

The apartment we lived in had the BEST views we could ask for! The sunset we saw from our apartment was simply amazing! The apartment overlooked the entire Nelson Town and it has a huge grass patch where Molly the horse lived in. Just a short distance away, we can find the cows, goats, dogs, ponies and a cute little piggy too! The best part of it was, you could take unlimited supply of bread and walk around the farm to feed the animals. We loved the freedom to roam around the farm and spent many happy moments with the animals!

Nelson city was just a short drive away where we could get to restaurants, supermarkets and shops to do some shopping or to buy groceries to cook in our apartment.

If you are planning a trip to Nelson, do not miss out this wonderful place! I will definitely go back to New Zealand just to stay on this farm again! Till we meet again!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shirloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Just wanted to thank Rachel and Sue for such an easy going , relaxing holiday :) from start to finish the whole experience was just faultless . City lights was just that , beautiful . Our 14 year old and 12 year old were in heaven with all the space and friendly animals ,We will certainly be back , thank you so much !

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

Conveniently located just outside Nelson with spectacular views over the Nelson and the sea. We stayed in the City Lights cottage. The accomodation is clean and tidy and
has everything you need. The Harris family is very friendly and there are lots of cute animals to feed.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lizzie3b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

spend gorgeous two nights over new year due to a last-minute cancellation and loved it, thank you Harris family, your service attitude is outstanding! the views are world class and kids loved all the animals, also a very nice and newly build cottage.if we are around, we'll come back - for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MObermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.4 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
5.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
702 reviews
5.4 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
16 reviews
12 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
5.5 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hill Cottages

Address: 23 Wastney Tce | Atawhai, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing