We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Harris Hill Cottages
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nelson
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
95
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity lightssunshine cottagefarm animalsgrandma's cottagewashing machinefeed the animalstasman bayfarm stayminute drivegreat base for exploringfond memoriesthis wonderful placeown mealswonderful hostshighlight of our triptwo nightsnelson town centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2015

We stayed in Meg's cottage for 2 nights. The views were incredible, the surroundings were quiet and the cottage was clean and cozy. When we first drove to the Harris Hill Cottages, we found the drive a bit daunting but we quickly got used to it. The views were certainly worth the 1 mile drive from the street.

We enjoyed the animals surrounding our cottage and I highly recommend the cottages due to their great views, ranch-like atmosphere and privacy. They would be a great place for a family who wanted to give their kids a little freedom or for a couple wanting to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in Maggies for 2 nights and absolutely were blown away by the friendliness, cleanliness and amazing panoramic ocean views. We've travelled extensively over the years and this is definitely in our top 5 places to stay. We will certainly come back! Highly recommended, you have to try this to experience it!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MariusBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

This was the best place we stayed in NZ in our recent trip. We were all surprised by how beautiful Nelson is - especially you looked at the place from the top of the world! Nelson is the most sunny place in NZ, and Harris Hill Cottages provides the best view of Nelson from your door steps. It is a great place for kids who can feed the animals in the farm. It is a perfect place - the views, the rooms and the hosts.

Nelson town centre is only a short drive away, where you can go to the shops and supermarket to stock up your supplies (foods, chocolates and NZ wines), then go back to the cottage and enjoy the views - the spectacular sunset and night light of Nelson.

Stayed: September 2015
Thank D_R_ABishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

This is our 4th trip here and our 2nd stay at Maggies Cottage.We stayed for two weeks and on arrival we were greeted by a wonderful warm welcome and a beatiful warm log fire which had been lit for us. Rachel and mum Sue make you feel like one of the family on their idyllic farm overlooking the Bay and Port. For a private, quiet and relaxing location, this is it. We shall return.

Room Tip: All cottages are private and have great views
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayed at the Maggies, a 3 bedroom cottage for our family of 5 for 2 nights and this is one of our best stay during our 3 weeks tour in NZ. Upon reaching, we drove up the hill, very challenging, we went slow and steady. Along the way we were wowed by the spectacular view. The moment we reached the cottage, we knew we have made the right choice for our accommodation.

The Harris family are so nice and accommodating. Rachel and Sue were just lovely, so friendly and helpful. Even their dogs were sweet and friendly, one particular doggie, Tom often dropped by to visit us and sat at our doorstep. The cottage was clean and cozy, bedrooms were great. The fireplace kept us toasty warm, it was the beginning of winter then. The scenery there was absolutely stunning where you would get a panoramic view of the Tasman Bay, Furthermore the sunset scenery was simply gorgeous!

The farm animals were the main highlight especially for the kids. Our kids totally enjoyed feeding them with unlimited bread supplies. Our favourite was the hairy pig and a little lamb, they were just too cute! Every morning there would be herds of goats at the front of the cottage grazing and we would be able to feed them too!

Groceries and restaurants at the city centre were about 10-15mins drive.

If you are looking for some peace and quiet, this will be the one. You won't have regrets! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerrynbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews