We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been before - will come again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harris Hill Cottages
Ranked #10 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Reviewed 30 August 2015

This is our 4th trip here and our 2nd stay at Maggies Cottage.We stayed for two weeks and on arrival we were greeted by a wonderful warm welcome and a beatiful warm log fire which had been lit for us. Rachel and mum Sue make you feel like one of the family on their idyllic farm overlooking the Bay and Port. For a private, quiet and relaxing location, this is it. We shall return.

Room Tip: All cottages are private and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giles w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2015

We stayed at the Maggies, a 3 bedroom cottage for our family of 5 for 2 nights and this is one of our best stay during our 3 weeks tour in NZ. Upon reaching, we drove up the hill, very challenging, we went slow and steady. Along the way we were wowed by the spectacular view. The moment we reached the cottage, we knew we have made the right choice for our accommodation.

The Harris family are so nice and accommodating. Rachel and Sue were just lovely, so friendly and helpful. Even their dogs were sweet and friendly, one particular doggie, Tom often dropped by to visit us and sat at our doorstep. The cottage was clean and cozy, bedrooms were great. The fireplace kept us toasty warm, it was the beginning of winter then. The scenery there was absolutely stunning where you would get a panoramic view of the Tasman Bay, Furthermore the sunset scenery was simply gorgeous!

The farm animals were the main highlight especially for the kids. Our kids totally enjoyed feeding them with unlimited bread supplies. Our favourite was the hairy pig and a little lamb, they were just too cute! Every morning there would be herds of goats at the front of the cottage grazing and we would be able to feed them too!

Groceries and restaurants at the city centre were about 10-15mins drive.

If you are looking for some peace and quiet, this will be the one. You won't have regrets! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerrynbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

We loved every minute of our stay in Meg's Cottage. The location was spectacular with views to die for. Rachel, Wayne, Sue and Mike were wonderful, helpful, generous and amazingly hospitable. The cottage had everything we needed, extremely comfortable and the weather was perfect for al fesco dining and watching beautiful sunsets. Would love to return to Meg's Cottage.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015

I had to shorten our planned stay at Harris Hill Cottages from 3 days to 1 thanks to having to deal with the tides' effect on the ecotours to Farewell Spit. But I was determined to stay here at least one night after a rave review on the Fodor Forum trip reports. The rave was not wrong. I can't imagine a more incredible view way up high across the Tasman Bay all the way to Farewell Spit than is provided by this property. You know all those views you can't really look at because you're going around a hairpin curve? This is that kind of view, only you can look at it all you want from your porch or picture window up here in heaven. The homes at the bottom of the hill are cute suburbanish houses, so it's a surprise when you turn onto Sue's road and it goes up and up and up, complete with hairpin turns and the traditional kiwi lack of guard rails, and ends in a sheep farm. The grazing land is so steep I think the sheep were standing on the sides of their hooves. My husband said he was not driving that road in the dark after a beer, so we ended up finishing up our leftover pate, etc., with a bottle of wine in our cottage, called City Lights. (Sue pointed out that no one has ever fallen off the road, but he had been driving hairpins for a month in NZ, this was our last night, and I think he was done!) I had booked a smaller unit with a beautiful view for $155 but Sue had upgraded us to City Lights, a 2-bedroom space with a wide porch that overlooks the lights of Nelson and its port. The main bedroom has its own huge picture window. The perfect stay here would be for several days when it stays light later. I can imagine taking day trips to the various sights of the region, picking up something to eat or cook on the way back, then settling in for the night to watch the sun set. Sue and her daughter Rachel are super friendly, and Rachel told us that she and her four siblings had grown up on the place, and at least some of them appear to live here in a compound. There are tons of sheep (and bread to feed to them), a couple of fat ponies (my daughter in her youth would have spent the entire stay grooming them), and a range of dogs. Kids would love this place. There's free wifi, all the equipment you could need (plus a few helpful extras like random herbs and tin foil), great water pressure, and a beautiful tv. City centre Nelson is a 10-minute drive away; Collingwood is a little over two hours. Don't miss this.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pthomas156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

What a find! This property is one of a kind. Location, location, location. Sitting high up on a hill at the end of a mile long drive, Harris Hill cottages offer the most amazing views over Nelson and Abel Tasman. The sunsets up here are amazing. I can't really think of enough superlatives to do justice to this place. You might find a better
location but it could take a hell of a long time.

We stayed in Maggie's cottage. It is well equipped having everything you would expect. It has 3 bedrooms, more than ample for our party of 3. The views from the deck are truly gobsmacking. They are just to die for! Add to this wonderful owners (thanks Rachel who saved my life by providing cold beers when I arrived). It's no surprise that visitors return year after year, some for the complete season. A delightful property in a fabulous location with wonderful owners. Who could ask for more?

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.4 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
5.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
703 reviews
5.4 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Apex Motor Lodge
Apex Motor Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tahunanui
16 reviews
12 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
5.5 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 42 in Nelson
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris Hill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris Hill Cottages

Address: 23 Wastney Tce | Atawhai, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing