We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bug Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Stayed there 2 nights and in general it is a nice place worth for the price. They are located within residential area and at 10PM even in the garden they don't let you to sit and talk with your friends. Not talking about any music or loud just sitting with friends and having normal conversation due to other residents around. This is a big minus for me.
They request 20USD deposit for bike usage. For me its OK but kind of unnecessary. I only would like to mention this in case you don't like carrying cash like me please be prepared.
Kitchen is big enough. Bathrooms are clean, internet works fine.
I stayed in a dorm room and they have this electronic number controlled doors so if someone wants to enter in the middle of the night trying to push buttons in the dark and it creates noise. Just a simple key would be better and simpler I believe.
Washing machine could be used only after 4 PM which is another handicap because then you have limited time to hang and dry your clothes, but they have drier which I have used. If you don't want to pay for drier then please also be ready for this.
Location wise I found it fine not far from the supermarket (6-7 mins bike ride one way)
8-10 mins to center.
Overall my stay was comfortable and in general I could recommend just please be careful about the points mentioned above. If those don't bother you then it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huss0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

I have to say that the other guest I met staying here were wonderful, but the hostel is a bit disgusting. The rooms and bathrooms were kept clean, but the kitchen was a cesspit. Constant piles of dirty dishes and door left wide open all day with no screen meant insects everywhere! Including cockroaches, ants, spiders and flies. The fridges stink, step back before you open the door! The WiFi was great, and unlimited when it was working. The bunk beds, however, were tiny. Most definitely designed for children. Overall the hostel has a nice vibe, but for comfort and cleanliness, perhaps book something else.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Stayed in a double room pre and post doing the Abel Tasman Coast Track. Close to the airport but about a good 20 minute walk to supermarkets and town centre (be mindful if you are carrying luggage from the iSite bus stop).

Room was clean, but the bed hadn't been made up when we first arrived... in fact, the young guy asked if we actually wanted a new sheet or if what was there 'would do'. But other than that, people were really friendly. Used the washing and drying facilities, and kitchen, and it was all pretty standard for a hostel.

Crowd was very young but not a partying crowd. Very friendly, respectful and enthusiastic. Great vibe in that respect so a good place if travelling alone if you enjoy interesting chats, etc...

Also worth pointing out that they let us keep luggage there in a locked shed while we were trekking, which was super helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the building adjacent to the main building are older but quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ilForastero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

In this hostel you can find everything you need. Free wifi, nice showers and toilets, laundry, well appointed kitchen, bread and jam for breakfast, nice people and a big garden to enjoy the sun. The owner was very helpful and drove me to the busstation in the morning.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hurdygurdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The bug backpackers is the best backpacker that I have done in New-Zealand, it's a very nice and comfortable place with a lovely garden, the ambiance is pleasant. The owners Mike and Stephanie are very friendly and interesting people! I had a good time there, I won't forget this special place. Thanks, Mathilde

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matou2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.7 km away
INNBetween Lodge and Backpackers Nelson
2.6 km away
Tasman Bay Backpackers
Tasman Bay Backpackers
#3 of 45 in Nelson
254 reviews
1.5 km away
The Palace Backpackers
The Palace Backpackers
#10 of 45 in Nelson
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Aurora Backpackers
Aurora Backpackers
#35 of 45 in Nelson
83 reviews
2.1 km away
The Prince Albert Backpackers
2.3 km away
Courtesy Court Motel
Courtesy Court Motel
#26 of 55 in Nelson
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bug Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bug Backpackers

Address: 226 Vanguard Street, Nelson, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Nelson
Price Range: $26 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bug Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bug Backpacker is a small, friendly hostel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hostel offers FREE wifi, bikes,lockers in large dorm bedrooms, local pick up/drop off from the bus station and on-site parking. Rooms are clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. Beds are fully made. The Bug has two large, well-equipped kitchens with fresh herbs where you can cook your meals and store your food. The hostel is spread over three houses with a large connecting garden for you to relax. It offers hammocks, foosball and a BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bug Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing