We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
3
3
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
3
5
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

The.motel is central city so good location bur no parking on site so a bit of a walk with your belongings. They will pay foe your parking till 11am which is lovely. It is cheap but if you have allergies then give it a miss.

We stayed in room 4 and the room was dusty and mouldy. I have allergies and my husband is asthmatic so we had to leave early as neither of us could stay another night. Also the double bed had a broken leg that no-one had noticed. There had been a leak in the shower and all the carpet in the room was mouldy where it had leaked. Carpet was tread bear in the kitchen although previous management responses indicated it was being done up in march and April this year.

Management were good about it and refunded us for the second night.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank kimsK4322IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Room was clean and tidy. Decor was outdated. Shower was either hot our lukewarm. Excellent location, right in the city centre. Kid friendly. Staff friendly and helpful. Alright for a budget conscious trip or short stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Bronwyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Right in middle of nelson CBD, room is very spacious for two of us. Kitchen is clean too. Owner kindly helped us pick up gas that we ordered online from the shop Torpedo7, this meant a lot for us otherwise we would be eating dehydrated food in cold water, we really appreciated it. It is a very quiet hotel and we all had nice sleep to start our hike. Will definitely stay there again if go back.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Seen some very unfair reviews. For the price this accomodation is more than sufficient. Great location in the heart of the town. Parking free at night and it has parking all day at a local church 2minute walk away. Massive room with a kitchen also. Obviously outdated decorating but for a stopover that hardly matters. Would stay again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

The second worst hotel I have stayed in during my life!!
Motor is a misnomer as there is no car park
Very tatty and dirty and when we arrived around 1800 reception was locked and barred and a tatty note had been left with a key with an illegible number
Had they not already taken payment (!) we would have turned tail and left at once!!
Room was horrible - bit like a flop house
Avoid it like the plague

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank JoeyBizwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy2510, General Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear JoeyBizwiz,
Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our motel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are sorry that we are not at the front desk at 6 pm but leaving keys and the instructions to you. We do have a phone number and a two-way interactive doorbell to contact us at the entrance door and at the reception so that you may call us if you need our help. But perhaps you did not see them. In addition, besides the 5-minute walk free parking we offered you, we have several options for car parks which are nearer such as Montgomery carparks or Buxton car parks but because we did not have a chance see you, we could not discuss them with you. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months. Our rooms will be getting new carpeting, in-room accessories, and much more! In taking great care of our motel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. We hope that we can discuss with you further about your ideas. Please reach out to us directly at happyseednz@gmail.com. With much appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews