We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sky wire ”

Cable Bay Adventure Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cable Bay Adventure Park (formerly Happy Valley Adventures). Only 15 minutes from central Nelson and home to the amazing Skywire Experience - the worlds longest flying fox; guided Quad bike tours, Horse treks, ride in the amphibious Argo or challenge your friends to a game of Paintball. Licensed Cafe onsite. Walking, MTB and E-Bikes all coming for Summer 2018/2019. Open 7 days, see website for booking times (closed Christmas Day only)
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Exciting.......well once you get up there and actually get on. Large group went up and we waited for our turn. Watching the reactions of the other groups was entertaining in itself. You actually get padlocked in......no escaping. Backwards was best, awesome view from above, seeing the natural forest underneath. Just enjoy the view.

Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyValleyNZ, General Manager at Cable Bay Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thanks for your review. Yes we can be extremley busy over Xmas and over the new year, sometimes waiting times are longer. We try our best to get to everyone as fast as we can. Yes Padlocked in for certain, you never know what kind of people we may get ha-ha :) Better to be extra safe than sorry. Great to hear you enjoyed the Skywire experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"quad biking"
in 30 reviews
"sky wire"
in 41 reviews
"flying fox"
in 32 reviews
"great fun"
in 33 reviews
"horse trek"
in 9 reviews
"zip line"
in 7 reviews
"adrenaline rush"
in 8 reviews
"flying high"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 21 reviews
"fear of heights"
in 4 reviews
"native bush"
in 7 reviews
"cable bay"
in 8 reviews
"an adventure"
in 4 reviews
"an awesome experience"
in 4 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 4 reviews
"south island"
in 3 reviews
Filter

34 - 38 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Started out just with the Bayview quad bike tour with Tony, he then talked us into doing the Skywire and we were not disappointed!
Had a really great day and we feel it was well worth the money especially since we were the only ones in the group.
Tony was instructive, and explained a lot about the operation they have going at happy valley adventures
We will definitely recommend to friends travelling there in the future.

Thank 927morgand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyValleyNZ, General Manager at Cable Bay Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thanks for taking the time and writting a review. Great to hear Tony has taken care of you and you have a had a great experience at Happy Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff and good vibes. Unhurried and relaxed atmosphere. The Skywire was a real adrenalin rush. Initially hesitant to do it (fear of heights) but encouraged to do so by the staff I did it and was glad I did. Highly recommended.

Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyValleyNZ, General Manager at Cable Bay Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Great to hear you concerd your fair and did it! So many clients are terrified but once they do it, they realise its well worth it. Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

Had an amazing trip to Happy Valley Adventures. Our tour guide, who was also the mechanic, patiently taught us to ride quad bikes before taking us to the nearby mountain. We did the flying fox before continuing to the top of the mountain for cheese, bickies and a cool drink or coffee. The view was amazing, even being lucky to have the day clear enough to spot a peak on the North island in the distance. Back down and some excitement through the paddocks. It was a fantastic experience, our guide was knowledgable, friendly but non-intrusive. Definitely recommend.

Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyValleyNZ, General Manager at Cable Bay Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Evan will be very pleased to hear you had a good time out with him. We very rarely get to see Mt Taranaki and when we do its meant to mean rain within 3 days. Its a stunning view that not many clients get to experience.Thanks for the Great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We did the skywire and it was fantastic, just like flying at great speed, fantastic views soaring over the forest canopy. Great friendly staff.

Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyValleyNZ, General Manager at Cable Bay Adventure Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thanks for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Bay Adventure Park also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Cable Bay Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing