We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
14
29
19
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
29
19
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upstairs room motel bathroom host smugglers units microwave cafes laundry
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

It's good for families. The full kitchen was a bonus. Set up like a council flat. Was comfy and homely. Very clean. But the shower leaked. Road noise was unreal. You can hear the neighbours something wicked. Liked how it was out of Nelson but wasn't too far out.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank kirstyplunkett2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Hi Kirsty,
I apologise for the leaky shower. Would have had it fixed straight away if you had told me, it is now done.
Unfortunately we had a large group staying when you were here and they did enjoy singing!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Our room was great - we had two bedrooms and a bed in the lounge with a kitchenette It is the accessible room. The bathroom was big and there was parking. We could walk to the cafes and Tahanui Beach.
The host was very helpful and we could store our luggage in the room until after lunch which was a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eerb03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope you can make it back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

A really nice Motel just outside of Nelson. The unit was spacious, clean and well equipped. The laundry room was very useful and easy to use.
Really loved the little area out the back of the units. Nice to sit in the fresh air.
We ate at the Smugglers just along the road and had a really nice dinner there.
I would definitely recommend the Balmoral.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Esemkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We stayed 2 nights (Room 715). We were 'upgraded' to this family room - thanks! Motel is getting dated, however room clean and tidy. Daily servicing to a good standard. Parking off-road is adequate but bit cramped. Having a separate access into a side street is an asset.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NewZealandCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in Nelson for 2 nights at the Balmoral, which is in a great location in a side street off the main road, so very quiet. Lovely owners. The motel has a pool (too cold this time of year to use) and onsite laundry (which we did use - no probs, washer and dryer worked perfectly, with a couple of $2 gold coins). There is plenty of off-street parking also. Our room was spacious with a double and single bed and a 2 seater couch and a meals table with 3 chairs, there was also a kitchenette with oven, microwave etc. The bathroom had been updated and was extremely clean as was the whole lodging.
Room tip, if you can handle stairs request an upstairs room, that way you will not have to put up with the guests upstairs thumping up and down the stairs and their noisey footsteps once above you or get a room in the laundry wing (single level).
Would we stay here again, YES.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Iggybah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews