We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Compass55922139485

One star .. TINY room

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Jan 2024
I booked a "Queen Standard" room directly with the hotel. The bed was a double, not a queen. The room was so small it would never have fit a queen bed.
How small? I had to put my rollaboard (my only luggage) into the shower enclosure to get enough room to walk to the bed. No chair in the room...there was no room for a chair!
The only powerpoint is in the bathroom...so I sat on the toilet to use my iPad while recharging it.
Good linens. Room seemed clean.
Kettle, and no toaster. Tiny fridge, which blocked access to one side of the bed.
No management on site at night, one guest forgot his room key in his room, and was locked out. And no one answered his texts or calls.
.
The room is only big enough for a 10 year old, and only if they were traveling alone.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $170
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
6.0 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $183
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $230
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $230
4.9 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $170
  • ZenHotels.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
5.9 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $197
6.9 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $130
  • Agoda.com
    $126
  • Hotels.com
6.7 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
6.9 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $144
  • Booking.com
    $152
5.5 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rutherford
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $209
  • Booking.com
    $215
6.1 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Pool
Restaurant
loft apartment balcony
$162
  • Agoda.com
5.2 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
498
433
134
48
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
498
433
134
48
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

We spent two nights here on our trip to Nelson. The room was small but perfect for a base as we went out all day. Monaco is close to the airport and about 10 minutes from the main centre of Nelson. The hotel is right on the bike trail for those riding bikes! Check in was easy and room serviced each day. There are no restaurants on site but we had a drink at the pub opposite which had a nice view and dinner at the brick eatery which are both worth a stop in. The reception is staffed during set hours, but it was perfect for what we needed for our stay. Plenty of parking on site

Room tip: Heaps of onsite parking
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 45lucye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2023

Wanted a special nite away! Got a back room which was VERY clean and tidy. BUT wanted a shower at end of day water FREEZING 🥶🥶🥶🥶 but can't complain as was informed boss is watching Allblacks game tonight!!!!! Will NOT be recommending this place. Even though it has an amazing views!!!!!

Room tip: Sort out your hot water and boss should be available 24/7 for these complaints
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trail34205797949
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2023

$290 per night over priced, under delievered. Mould in shower, run down depressing feeling. Garden full of weeds, no sky TV. Airport over the road planes flying till 8 pm. Supplies minimal 2 towels, small box of milk, 1 and a half toliet rolls per day. Run down accomodation. We were taken for fools.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Y5591QIkarenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2023 via mobile

No one was in reception on arrival so had to text and she came fairly quickly. She was friendly. Told me we had a lovely downstairs room. We were very disappointed with the room. Basically no outlook. Only one small window that was covered in condensation in the morning. Some stains on carpet near window. Small fridge that buzzed all night. We were there one night so in the morning we got up, dressed and got out of there. Shower didn’t look clean with grimy grouting in the tiles. We both woke up with sore hips as bed was quick firm. For the price - wouldn’t come back or recommend.

Room tip: Spend your money elsewhere and you might get something nicer for less
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DaleLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2022 via mobile

Arrived at 7.30 pm after a 3 hour drive (on our honeymoon) to find reception closed and a sign saying it wouldn’t be open until 10 am the next day. There was a number to call for “out of hours” arrivals which transferred to a sister hotel but nobody knew anything about our booking and said they’d call us back. They never did. We received no info about where to find our keys or access the room and were tired, disappointed and needed the bathroom. The restaurant next door is independent of the hotel and was closed for dinner and breakfast, but luckily one of the staff there had seen this issue before and guessed where they keys might have been left (under the “left key” box, in case anyone else has the same issue) and was fortunately correct.

The hotel is located on the edge of an industrial estate by the end of the runway at Nelson airport. I’m a pilot and have no problem with aircraft noise but it’s a training field and guests might want to be aware of this before booking. The views are ok although all the booking sites imply that it’s in an unspoiled rural location which is not the case.

The bed was comfortable and there are tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. The bathroom was not clean - the basin had definitely not been cleaned, there were suspicious brown marks on the floor by the toilet and the loo roll holder was broken, as was the bathroom extractor fan.

Despite booking for 2 nights we could not face a second and decided to leave a day early. In the whole time there we didn’t see a single member of staff.

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Compass09364770067
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews