We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lorraine M
Alexandra, New Zealand

Grand Monaco apartments Nelson

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Feb 2021
Have wanted to stay here for years after many times flying over it. Lovely place and beautifully set out. So disappointing not to be told before we got here that the cafe and bar were shut and looked like they had been for quite some time. Appt was roomy and managed by Nelson Holiday Homes. They were great when we had a problem shortly after arriving. No evidence of any staff on site. Lovely walks around Monaco and the Honest Lawyer over the road was a nice meal although grounds overgrown and neglected since we were last there.
Date of stay: February 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$163
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.0 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
$196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.9 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
$130
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.7 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio Unit Tea and Coffee facilitie
$137
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.5 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel exterior
$152
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free parking
Restaurant
Rutherford
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.1 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free parking
Pool
Saxton Lodge Exterior Garden
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $165
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $152
  • Priceline
5.9 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Motel
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Priceline
6.9 km from Grand Arden Monaco Nelson
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Nelson
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
498
433
134
48
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
498
433
134
48
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2020

This was a lovely place in a great setting, the apartment I had was huge, with bedroom en-suite bathroom, kitchen and lounge. Very pleasantly decorated, with cooking facilities if required. The food in The resteraunt was amazing, but far too much food for me. Staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a visit if you are travelling here.

Room tip: All seemed good from comments by the rest of the group I was travelling with
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockeytart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2020

Built as a complex our room was 3 rooms - a bedroom, good sized shower room and lounge with self catering facilities. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The hotel hires bikes and is close to a cycle path which we used to get into Nelson - not too far away. There is a small swimming pool on site - O.K. to cool down and for a brief swim. Next door is a small gym. We ate dinner both nights at the pub across the road - that also was very good. Would be happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2020

We spend a couple of nights and found that even though the rooms are a little small, the decor and coziness were just so special. My room overlooked the small pond area. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is close to the airport but not noisy. We had dinner there and breakfast. The food was good and the service was great.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

Our party of six stayed here for two nights in March 2020 in two rooms. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find that one of our rooms had been upgraded. Maybe that is because we're members of the Accor Hotels club? If so, we have been upgraded several times throughout the world thanks to our membership.

The hotel is located close to the airport - about 5-10 minutes by car. It is actually opposite one of the ends of the airport runway (but there is no noise), so you get a good view of the hotel when arriving or departing, and you can also sit outside at the hotel restaurant and watch planes arrive and take off.

The hotel is certainly unique. It is built like a quaint little English village with a common in the middle. We were informed that some of the units are in fact owner-occupied, and a few operate as businesses, eg jeweller, law office. The place has a very nice, relaxed atmosphere. Right across the road is a bar/restaurant, The Honest Lawyer, which also continues the English village theme.

Our two rooms were clean and had everything. They were definitely comfortable and quiet, but slightly dated. A renovation in a few years would probably be a good idea. For those with cars, parking is right outside the front door. The wifi was ok. Conveniently, there is a separate guest laundry available for guests.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Maybe the range of food available could be extended, eg beans and hash browns would be a good addition.

All the staff members were helpful and polite.

The hotel is not within comfortable walking distance of the central city, but it is convenient if you're travelling by car. We will probably return here when revisiting Nelson.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KiwiViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Administration Coordinator at Grand Arden Monaco Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Kia ora,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide such an encouraging and thorough review for the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

We'd also like to wish you all the best for a happy and healthy 2020.

Haere ra, travel well.

Karma Argyle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Flying visit to Nelson while on a road trip.
My hotel room was smaller than I'm used to having used the Accor group many times. Décor seemed a little dated.
No fridge or air con which surprised me. There was a ceiling fan however. Had a nice view of the estuary across the road. Road noise was not a concern. Not sure how busy nearby Nelson airport is but if the wind was blowing the wrong way could be an issue. Turns out there was a guests lounge which had a large fridge which would have been useful had I known about it.
A full cooked breakfast was part of my package which was the standard Accor buffet. Enjoyable with a sea view.
The room was comfortable & clean. The bed was comfortable.
Suggest the staff could be more forthcoming on the amenities' available to guests.
A good stay but not outstanding comparing to other Grand Mercure Hotels I've stayed at.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Administration Coordinator at Grand Arden Monaco Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Tena koe Chris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco. We very much appreciate your comments as it provides encouragement to our staff to always strive to exceed expectations.
We offer a variety of room types and sizes, most of which have their own lounge and fridge. I apologize that you were not made aware of the guest lounge and fridge that was available for your use in the hotel block.
I will pass your feedback on to our reception staff to be more mindful of this in the future.
Thank you again for passing on your feedback.
We wish you all the best for your future travels. May they be happy, healthy and safe.

Haere ra, travel well.

Karma Argyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews