We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/21
Hotels.com
US$53
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/07/21
Agoda.com
US$45
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/07/21
Expedia.comUS$53
PricelineUS$52
CheapTicketsUS$53
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
195
66
12
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
195
66
12
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pudding free choc the kitchen hot water bottles shopping bags bed dorm herb garden common areas abel tasman checking out two nights comfortable beds hostels nz nightly storage dryer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2019 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Everything about this place is outstanding. From the moment we arrived with a warm welcome everything was never any bother. Large kitchen, comfortable beds clean bathrooms, nice outdoor area to relax. Owners helped every way they can with advice and support plus suggestions. Top place.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank getdihere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2019 via mobile

Traditional backpackers with really friendly and kind staff. We felt very welcomed.

There were a lot of people staying there at the time and about 50% seemed to have guitars and were keen to play them, all the time. Maybe this is your kind of thing but it’s not mine

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kevinsV7775QB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2019 via mobile

I have been contemplating whether to leave this review or not, but after thinking it through I am still frustrated.

My partner and I booked her for 2 nights. We were traveling down by car on the ferry. My partner was in a crash so we had to cancel. I called and canceled the reservation as well as canceled through Booking.com.

Few days later received an email advising of no show and I had been charged for 1 night? I called the property and was told 2 bookings were made, I advised the manager of our situation and he said to call Booking.com.

Booking.com advised that the booking had glitches and processed 2 times on different dates but as the property had charged they couldn’t refund. They called the property and told them what had happened.

The manager refused to refund and told them he was full that night and lost the room, that is not true. Booking.com has now refunded me but I though this was a pretty clear cut reasoning and the response from the backpackers left a pretty sour taste.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank simpleas1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TasmanBayBP, Manager at Tasman Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2019

Hi Frances! There seems to be a misunderstanding here. When you called 2 weeks after you noticed that you were charged, you never mentioned that you called the property directly beforehand to make a cancellation. If you would kindly supply a call log from your phone that shows this, we would of course have cancelled the reservation free of charge. As it is, we got 2 reservations from you through booking.com for different dates. One was cancelled online free of charge, but the second booking for a different date was never cancelled by you. If there was a glitch at booking.com, they have certainly never advised us of that glitch. Again could you please provide proof of the statement that booking.com has said there was a software glitch please.Lastly, when you called we tried to explain that because we held your reservation for that night, no one else could have booked this room, which left us with an empty and unsold room for that night and therefore lost income.For this we charged according to our cancellation policy. At no time did we say we were fully booked. Feel free to email us directly if you have further questions.Thanks and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2019

It was a nice friendly and clean place to stay on a budget.
Being close to town it was convenient but quiet.
They do a bonus of a chocolate pudding every night and although I didn’t get to try it it smelt great.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alli Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2019

This is an absolutely lovely hostel! I stayed here either side of a hike in Abel Tasman and it was so nice to come back to a familiar, homely place after my hike. They also offer free luggage storage which was very helpful! The hostel is very clean with lots of space indoors and outdoors. There is also (delicious) free chocolate pudding and ice cream every night which was such a treat. Loved this hostel!!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastal583983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgiep10, Owner at Tasman Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Yay so happy you enjoyed all these things and had a great time at our hostel. It's a priority for us that people feel welcome and that it is 'homely' so great to hear that you found this. Happy onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews