We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$204
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Yorkie Girl
Clean and convenient.
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2023via mobile
We stayed one night here in order to see the Little Blue Penguins. The 1 bedroom unit was big enough for 2. The large bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was better equipped than expected. Convenient for the town and historic quarter. It was clean and comfortable if a little dated and was value for money.
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Vio.com
0.3 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$234
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Tripadvisor
$159
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$134
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
Tripadvisor
$182
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$128
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Brydone Hotel
Tripadvisor
$166
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
deluxe studio king bed
Tripadvisor
$145
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
3.3 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $216
  • eDreams
2.7 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
56
73
50
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
73
50
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen bed stayed one night mcdonalds motel town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2021

On behalf of my elderly parents who stayed at this establishment for 3 nights just recently.
They any I were totally disappointed by the size of the unit. They called it compact but by kiwi standards it's a tiny bedroom with ensuite.
The Bed is a double bed not a queen size as advertised. The unit was clean and tidy.
Excellent location, being so close to town. But neighbors are McDonald's open 24/7 on one side and a Petrol Station on the other side. A little noisy if your unit is close to these establishments.

When my parents after their first night asked for a upgrade to a larger unit .for safely requirements I was totally shocked and appalled to hear of the Managers unprofessional and disrespectful manner towards my elderly parents. I understand that there wasn't any units available, but there was no need to verbally raise your voice to the extent to embarrass them and anyone else in the vicinity.

I will not be recommending this Motel to anyone in the future.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debz1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2021

Bella Vista is not a motel that I would return to. It was dated with very little natural light. The bed was two singles pushed together to make a double and I believe not a queen. The beds had long passed their use by date, sunken in the middle and hard to sleep on. The smell in our bathroom was awful. Although I would rate it very poor value for money the one great thing was the reading lamps over the bed. I suggest looking around for another motel.
As New Zealand is basically Covid free questions on distancing etc are irrelevant.

Room tip: Not unit 1
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2021 via mobile

Well it is review quite well but I was not all that impressed really. The property is run down. Weeds in the pavement and broken latch on some windows. This place isl definately in a 1980 time worp. That said it was clean as so no complaints there and relatively close to the "cbd".

They recommended a Chinese restaurant close which was bloody dreadful.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ericgT2218DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 November 2020

Check in was the minimum no local knowledge ideas to do where to eat etc passed. Room was small even for a Bella Vista would be good for 1 or 2 nights. Location was good probably a little far to walk to some of the popular restaurants, Room was clean tidy. We received breakfast the night before two bits of bread each and some condiments can't remember ordering it.

Would stay again noting a place to sleep not much more.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed over night on our way from Christchurch. Our room was clean and tidy. I agree with the below comment/rating that the room is tight and not a lot of space to eat if you have got more than one person. It was very windy overnight. Glazing was not tightly installed. The wind was blowing through it making loud whistling noise. Also we had a door in between our room and the next door unit. The door was for some reason unlocked (bad idea for security) and we could hear everything happening in the room next door, including Skype calls.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mariaChchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews