We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$156
Breakfast included
Priceline
$156
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
$156
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
ashcb

Would come back

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Mar 2024via mobile
It's a really amazing old building that feels like stepping back in time, with an incredible view of the town. It's a bit rough around the edges I suppose, but considering it's age, I'd say the place is in great condition. Great location too (unless you're walking and don't like hills).
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$177
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $177
1.4 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $115
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $115
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
    $115
0.4 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $174
2.0 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front facade lit up at night
Booking.com
$340
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Expedia.com
    $164
3.1 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Vio.com
    $112
  • Hotels.com
    $123
1.9 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $145
  • Vio.com
    $121
  • Hotels.com
    $135
2.1 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $122
  • Hotels.com
    $125
1.9 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
$234
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $212
  • Agoda.com
    $189
  • Expedia.com
    $224
4.5 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
6
8
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
8
7
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2024 via mobile

A slightly eccentric accommodation but comfortable and clean. This lovely house has had some DIY work to provide ensuites but they are quite serviceable. King sized bed was comfortable. Eclectic furnishings made for a slightly eccentric feel. Large lounge available for dining with pool table as well. Very comprehensive range of continental breakfast options.
Biggest negative was necessity for entry via the host's kitchen area. Slightly chaotic outside area but on site parking available.
Host very friendly and eager to chat.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Are you having a bit too much fun on your holiday and need somewhere to get that dirty, "ripped off" feeling? Longing to stay in what feels like a building site with a surly, unhelpful owner? Well, look no further than Federation House. Nice views and handy to town but the "continental breakfast" was toast, jam and rancid butter. There was wifi access...if you went out of your room and stood in the hallway to use it. Don't ask the owner for help with anything - he'll say he's "not an expert" in that, even if you're enquiring about things to do locally. He did not listen and was incredibly rude about other guests - I would not want my friends or family to stay there. Oh, and if you want to shower? Don't take room 5 because it has A LOT of black mould. Health hazard levels. Please beware. The photos look like "Victorian charm" but in reality it's tatty, grubby and unfriendly.

Room tip: If in upstairs rooms, you need to stand in the hallway to get wifi.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Abby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2023

This is a refurbished old home with crazy decor. Whilst the rooms on the bottom floor were easier to access I would strongly advise anybody not to take the top story 3 rooms
Our room was the fire exit for upstairs which was a small sliding window. If there was a fire I’m not sure how I would get out, I would probably slide down the iron roof onto ground below. We did notice there is a small ladder, but one has to get there first without falling. We believe there are real safety issues with this guest house
Also not impressed with the toilet being open and also the floor on this Reno is not level . It’s a real dodgy Reno
One gets the feeling of sliding to the wall when you go through the French doors
The towel rack was a line of wire
The owner Rodger is very enthusiastic about his guest house but I’m sorry we don’t share that enthusiasm

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank misswicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2023

Nothing like the photos! More like a second hand shop with mismatched furniture covered in towels and tablecloths than a heritage house. Outside was like a building site, rooms had DIY 'ensuites' and spare bedrooms added in cupboards and under the stairs. The sunroom attached to our room had the ensuite shower and toilet added to the end of it with one of the shower walls covering part of the fire exit. Not nice to use the toilet if other members of your party are sat in the sunroom! The fire alarm went off in our room during the night; no-one came and in the morning we were informed it probably went off due to the battery running low and was surprised it didn't go off again!
We certainly felt this building was a health and safety risk and shouldn't be open to the public.

Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BOOtsie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Fabulous views over the bay.
The owner has reworked this villa for over 30 years.
Very comfortable... Like a home from home.
Breakfast is included which is a bonus 😁👍.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TambonzRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews