We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveling Bear
Alaska
Favourite place in NZ
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2020
Lovely old Victorian mansion that retains it's charm with amazing views over the city and sea.

Clean, comfortable room with paintings and old pictures everywhere. Nice bed and a window to catch the ocean breeze.

Rodger was a friendly host, and has put countless hours into this property. Breakfast is served in a sunroom overlooking the bay, a perfect beginning to the day.

The most unforgettable place I stayed in New Zealand, do not miss.
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
deluxe studio king bed
Tripadvisor
$145
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
4.9 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.1 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
2.5 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
inside courtyard
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $189
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Agoda.com
4.3 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
6
8
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
8
7
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

My first impression was “how funky” as the entrance at front and back have old-fashioned knobs and locks, and the 100 year old house has been restored and converted to a B&B, with some interesting cubbies. My room was scrupulously clean and very comfortable. The windows were super for both light and views. Rodger was very gracious and took time in the morning when I was finished with a continental breakfast to tell me more about the house. It is walking distance to The penguin experience and Steampunk HQ and Victorian District.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2019

This is a restored Victorian villa and has retained all of its original charm. Loved the view over the harbour and Victorian Precinct, both of which are well within walking distance down the hill. The whole place was scrupulously clean and the bed comfortable. The owner, Rodger, is an interesting and open character and certainly adds to the charm.
Our only negative point were some aspects of the room. It was advertised as a two bedroom suite with on-suite. What we found was the second bedroom was in fact constructed by building out into the roof space from the original room, accessed through a half height hatch door. All of this may have added to the charm were it not for the fact there was not ventilation like a period dormer window or skylight. Our teenage daughter christened it the "Coffin" and promptly claimed the main bed with her mother.
The other slightly jarring note was the ensuite which was in-fact framed as a triangular space in one corner of the room. Its size was more reminiscent of something in a caravan with the sink over the toilet and a tiny shower cabinet.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2019

Rodger has done a wonderful job creating items for & restoring his family's historic home. It is in a great location, close to downtown Oamaru & the Blue penguin colony. We really enjoyed out stay & Rodger was very helpful with information & very interesting to talk to. We stayed in the Bessie Clark room. Beds were very comfortable & the view of the city & harbour from the bathroom is superb.
We loved looking around at all the marvelous wood in the house & the lovingly decorated rooms & common spaces.
Perfect for a couple or a family.

Room tip: Bessie Clark has a Queen plus a single bed with a great view
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 893carmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Room was gorgeous with a view. Lovely character and warm. Very kind Roger who looked after us. Could view Oamaru and Victorian precinct. Would stay here again! Perfect for an overnight or family stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank krispydonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Well done Roger.....we loved this place, it's comfortable, it's unique, fabulous views from most rooms, we enjoyed the sun going down with drinks overlooking the town and rogers vinyl records...if you want somewhere welcoming and different, come here....ok, if you want a flash breakfast, have it down the street.....but this place is a joy! It's a B&B, and the owner is great!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alfagtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews