We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$160
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Carma R
Funky & Fun Example of Restored Victorian Era Home
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2019
Rodger has done a wonderful job creating items for & restoring his family's historic home. It is in a great location, close to downtown Oamaru & the Blue penguin colony. We really enjoyed out stay & Rodger was very helpful with information & very interesting to talk to. We stayed in the Bessie Clark room. Beds were very comfortable & the view of the city & harbour from the bathroom is superb.
We loved looking around at all the marvelous wood in the house & the lovingly decorated rooms & common spaces.
Perfect for a couple or a family.
Date of stay: February 2019
Room Tip: Bessie Clark has a Queen plus a single bed with a great view
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$284
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $209
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
  • eDreams
    $115
0.4 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $155
  • Vio.com
    $155
  • eDreams
    $155
2.1 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$228
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $234
  • Hotels.com
    $229
  • Vio.com
    $228
1.7 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$235
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $236
  • Expedia.com
    $248
  • Priceline
    $235
2.0 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
$180
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Agoda.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $155
4.5 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $138
  • Priceline
    $140
1.9 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Day
Booking.com
$80
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
1.5 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $120
  • Lol.travel
21.0 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
6
8
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
8
7
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Room was gorgeous with a view. Lovely character and warm. Very kind Roger who looked after us. Could view Oamaru and Victorian precinct. Would stay here again! Perfect for an overnight or family stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank krispydonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Well done Roger.....we loved this place, it's comfortable, it's unique, fabulous views from most rooms, we enjoyed the sun going down with drinks overlooking the town and rogers vinyl records...if you want somewhere welcoming and different, come here....ok, if you want a flash breakfast, have it down the street.....but this place is a joy! It's a B&B, and the owner is great!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alfagtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight last minute booking. Owner was very nice very helpful he knows a lot about the area where to eat, where to drink places for entertainment & to visit a wealth of knowledge all in all a very nice gentleman. And knows so much about the history if his home. Great room very personal very comfortable nice to have a real carpet lol. Beds very comfy my room had a great view out over the harbour. Complimentary breakfast is available I could not because of early start but did view the breakfasts & they looked very good for a freebie. Onsite parking a bonus. All in all a very pleasant stay at a very reasonable price. I would recommend highly.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Booked to stay 4 nights after the TripAdvisor reviews but only stretched it to 3 (paid the $600 for 4 nights) and stayed at a motel for the 4th.

Rated 1star because the bed was comfortable.

The add in bathroom is a cubby hole we've had bigger in hostels in India. Turn water over handbasin on and spirts onto floor. Shower doesn't keep water in so ultimate result - toileting with wet feet. Old towels should be cleaning rags AND wet flannel (was it someone else's?) and used soap offered first.
Room not serviced so had to ask for dry towels on 3rd day.

Continental breakfast offered in price but we ate our own as cereal looked as old as the house.

Single bed in room with orange candle wick bedspread...

Sadly, we had just come from a lovely motel with very large bathroom and separate bedroom - costing less than the $150 per night charged at Federation.

Parking is abysmal - owners bus, ute and another permanent car, made for technical parking with our ute.

Would I stay here again - never!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank lous594
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We decided last minute to come to Oamaru to spot penguins so booked here the night before, having decided not to choose a faceless motel. This place is an example of a grand early 20th century house, subject to the owner's rather eccentric renovations. We were in Bessie's room- with the toilet and shower fitted into the glassed in balcony- a loo with a view.
The furnishings and carpets have seen better times, however we slept well, had tea/coffee/fridge facilities in the room and a great view over the town.
Definitely the most individual B&B we stayed in.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MissBabs64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews