We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$156
Breakfast included
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
MissBabs64
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom

Quirky but comfortable

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Feb 2017via mobile
We decided last minute to come to Oamaru to spot penguins so booked here the night before, having decided not to choose a faceless motel. This place is an example of a grand early 20th century house, subject to the owner's rather eccentric renovations. We were in Bessie's room- with the toilet and shower fitted into the glassed in balcony- a loo with a view.
The furnishings and carpets have seen better times, however we slept well, had tea/coffee/fridge facilities in the room and a great view over the town.
Definitely the most individual B&B we stayed in.
Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$177
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $177
  • Hotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $176
1.4 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $115
  • Agoda.com
1.6 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $115
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
    $115
0.4 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $174
  • Expedia.com
    $168
2.0 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front facade lit up at night
Booking.com
$340
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Expedia.com
    $164
3.1 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $132
  • Vio.com
    $112
  • Expedia.com
    $131
1.9 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $145
  • Vio.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $130
2.1 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
    $125
1.9 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
$234
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $212
  • Vio.com
    $187
  • Expedia.com
    $223
4.5 km from Federation House B&B Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
6
8
7
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
8
7
1
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent view from the b&b, and friendly owner. Quirky room and huge comfortable bed.
Slightly strange set up of the bedroom with shower and toilet in the sunroom/balcony with no door between toilet and sitting area (there is a door between bedroom and sunroom however).
All in all a comfortable stay.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2017

100 year old house with character and charm. Host is helpful and loves to share his wisdom, very friendly chappie. Rooms are very spacious and have everything one needs. Every room also has an en suite. Excellent location to walk to see the blue penguins.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariethatsme2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Charming spacious wood panelled room (number3) with gorgeous views. Renovated to give every convenience. Don't expect modern glassware or stainless steel sink. However we slept so well and enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Y6124VMjaneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed here only after having trouble getting any other accommodation & booked it via the information centre. If I'd viewed the property first I probably would have not stayed & moved on to another town. All the advertising sounds great & even photos but once inside you will find a very different story. The rooms are put together in a very "home handyman " kind of way. With power leads & lamps that flash etc it's definitely not for the faint hearted. On a bright note all the old artefacts & memorabilia are fascinating & the host very helpful. Forget the offer of breakfast at $15/head. Hygiene isn't big here either. All I can say is view before you commit.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nimmo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

It is a very big house with two floors. Rooms are on the ground floor and on the first floor.
The common living room, on the ground floor, has a big window overlooking the Oamaru bay.

The rooms we stayed were large but they feature a very small bathroom, around 2sqm. Actually they look like a motorhome or a sailboat toilette including shower. These toilettes were added inside the rooms afterwards as the original bathrooms were likely shared at each floor.

The rooms decoration is pretty old with a lot of small objects and collectibles stuffed inside. The carpeted floor are a bit old
The rooms might be described as vintage and cozy, but they should be taken care properly, renewed and deeply polished.
The House location is great if you want to pay a visit to the blue penguin center located within 10 minutes walking.

Overall the House is a good choice for backpackers or sole travelers with a very limited budget.

I would not recommend it for families or people looking for authentic, warm and welcoming B&B feeling.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Pierluigi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews