We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
120
43
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
43
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh muffins on arrival the main road nice feel spar bath upon check tidy unit generous size long drive road noise little things enjoyable stay new owners comfortable place to stay local knowledge salad wrap free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Pros -
1) Room clean and heated. Washroom has a small heater as well
2) Very reasonable pricing @ ~ NZD 120/night
3) Very friendly and helpful service
4) Free wifi
5) You get complimentary freshly baked muffins + chocolates + milk upon check in

Cons -
1) A little far out from the city centre (~5mins drive) and ~4km drive to the blue penguin colony.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank feizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorlodge, Owner at ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a great review.
I'm so glad you liked what we offer all our valued guests
Bret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Great place to stay to explore the lovely city of Oamaru or just overnight. Large very clean rooms some with a spar bath. Kitchenette with microwave and plates and cutlery etc.washing machine and dryer available for very small charge. Welcomed with a fresh muffin. Never stay anywhere else when in Oamaru. suitable for seniors. Free off street parking This is a motel not a hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingermegs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorlodge, Owner at ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Thanks very much for your wonderful review. It really makes our day to hear you continue to enjoy staying with us.
We look forward to seeing you again
Bret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Stayed in a King room. Wow, both my partner and I are extremely impressed with the layout, set up and small touches that they've thought of (like having a small torch beside the bed). Extremely comfortable bed, great night's sleep, and very friendly staff. Appreciated the muffins on arrival too.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBSULLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorlodge, Owner at ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thanks very much for such a wonderful review. Your words mean a lot to me as it shows we seem to be meeting our aim of meeting and surpassing our guests needs.
Ka kite ano
Bret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

What a place to spend a lazy evening in Oamaru. The staff member on the front desk was a delight to deal with and provided some very useful local knowledge that added to my stay. I couldn't have asked for a better place to take a breath on my travel.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank peterlY557JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorlodge, Owner at ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks so much for your wonderful review Peter. It really is great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, as our primary focus is that our guests feel welcome, comfortable and relaxed. I hope you continued to have a great time on your trip
Bret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Spotlessly clean room, nice thoughtful extras like handy towels and glad wrap available ( helpful when packing lunch for next day of travel) . Bonus welcome muffin and chocolate under the pillow were nice touches and reception man was friendly and helpful.
The motel units are also set back from the main road a bit so nice and quiet.
Would certainly stay again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mich2739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassadorlodge, Owner at ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you very much for your great feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed the extras we provide. We look forward to seeing you again
Ka kite ano
Bret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews