We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kong_Me_OL_Mate
Hi speed wifi with sky channel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Feb 2019
There is not thing much to do in the night time in Oamaru. So accommodation with a hi-speed internet and sky channel would be the best option. However, the room we got is very small with no sound proof. This hotel is on the main road so we can hear the noise for the whole night.
Date of stay: January 2019
Room Tip: Ground floor better so you can park your car at your front door
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $155
  • StayForLong
  • eDreams
    $155
2.8 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
$180
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Agoda.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $155
0.3 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$284
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $219
  • Expedia.com
    $241
  • Vio.com
    $219
3.5 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$235
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $236
  • Expedia.com
    $248
  • Priceline
    $235
2.9 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$228
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $234
  • Hotels.com
    $229
3.3 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $91
  • Agoda.com
4.3 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $138
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Priceline
    $140
3.0 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Brydone Hotel
Booking.com
$233
  • Expedia.com
    $226
  • Vio.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $222
3.8 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $115
  • eDreams
    $115
  • Vio.com
    $115
4.5 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$120
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $120
  • eDreams
    $120
  • Lol.travel
25.7 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
8
23
11
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
23
11
9
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Ascot last week for 4 days whilst visiting family in Oamaru. The price was good, the room was older but very suitable to our needs & fits in well with what Oamaru is. The staff friendly and there is a restaurant and bowling alley right next door too.

I’d stay here again no questions. It’s right in the Thames Hwy in the Nth end of Oamaru. So it’s a straight run down Sth Hwy 1 (SH1) from Christchurch Airport to here.

Reverse cycle A/C worked well, the place is clean and tidy and the beds comfy.

Gets my vote!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LC200VX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Clean well presented unit. Well equipped and handy location. Beds extremely comfortable and effective quiet heat pump. Not a complaint but a suggestion but a mirror in the bathroom would make shaving etc easier.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ColHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2018

The bed was comfortable and the heat pump was a bonus there were no sky movies (which we were looking forward to.) We were greeted with a smile in reception and the manager was friendly. The room was warm.

Room tip: choose a room back from the road
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Rung up got a good deal. 2 singles and a queen bed. Handy location, electric blankets, tempermental heatpump, no sky movies, good bath, leaky toilet, moths in light fixture, electric blanket on queen bed doesn't work, not too bad for the price. Would stay again if here another time.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hi there, sorry that you felt things werent working as good as they should be, we rely on people telling us, when things arent right so we can correct them. Unfortunately first I have heard of this problem. I presume you were in room 23 upstairs according to your name on our booking grid. I have taken a note of the issues and will follow up to make sure these things are sorted out. These units have not been done up and we do hope to revamp them in the near future. We look forward to you coming again. I wonder did you tell the person on the counter of these issues? I would have been on, on this day if it is the booking I think it is and have not been told of these issues. So glad to eventually hear of them. kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We had booked this motel months in advance for the Steampunk Festival, we run a business and have a stall at the Steampunk market so this is a very important weekend for us. We received a call from booking.com at 5pm telling us that there had been an issue with our booking. When we got there we found out that Richard had put the dates into his system wrong and booked out our room to someone else. We had travelled quite away for this weekend and this is the busiest weekend of the year in Oamaru so there was very little accomodation. We tried to find out what had gone wrong and Richard would not be held responsible, he got very aggressive and threatened to effectively kick us off the premises. Booking.com managed to find us other accommodation and Richard did agree to pay the difference, and he admitted this is not the first time this has happened. This was quite a traumatic experience for us, and frankly a person like that should not be running a business. If you'd like to stay somewhere with terrible customer service, appalling management and an unprofessional attitude then go ahead and book your stay at the Ascot

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank jadeaerinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

I am very sorry for the experience you have had. I am one of the people who does the desk when Richard isn't there. I know how very frustrating it can be. We don't actually put the bookings on the computer. When you go thru Booking.com they totally act as agent. The booking is electronically transmitted to our Booking Grid and until you come and check in is when we find out if there is an issue. I know on talking to other motels they have similar issues and yes it is very frustrating. I am so sorry for your experience and wish you only the best for the future.

I have once been put in this situation and found it very embarrasing and frustrating as we pay Booking.com money to be an agent, and trust that they will get this right. kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews