We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$143
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Erick
Missouri

a stay that definitely exceeded my expectations

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 May 2018
Indeed the motel does not look that great from the outside. It is old.
Now I got a unit at the back when I asked if there were some rooms at the back. Very quiet and unfortunately I am very noise sensitive. A great stay.
The unit was large and had a comfy bed. There was a small kitchen section well furnished.
The bathroom was fine. The shower had good pressure and there was no delay to get hot water
Check-in and check-out were both very efficient and staff extremely friendly. Not only friendly but helpful and fun to talk to.
Well beyond my expectations when looking from the outside :-)
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this review
Responded 22 Jun 2018
Hello Erick, thank you for reviewing out Motel, so glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again.
All the Best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $215
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Hotels.com
2.9 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $133
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $230
  • Hotels.com
3.5 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Brydone Hotel
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
8
23
11
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
23
11
9
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

This motel is undoubtedly one of the worst we have every stayed in in NZ!

Whilst the reception staff were friendly enough the room we had was absolutely terrible. No window (other than the front door out onto the general first floor balcony & casual seating area) & a window in the bathroom out onto the extremely noisy (all night!) main road.

The bathroom was very old fashioned & the loo was a disgrace! The double bed was so uncomfortable my wife actually moved out during the night to sleep in the casual bed in the main room!

All the facilities & decor was tired & badly in need of an update, parking totally random & a combination of lack of fresh air & road noise made it impossible to get a decent nights sleep!

Avoid at all costs unless there are no other rooms available in Oamaru!

Room tip: If you must stay here check your room before paying! Ours had no windows & was extremely noisy all night!
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Sorry you feel that way , you did get one of the oldest rooms. We have recently taken over the motel and have renovated 5 rooms to the highest professional standard possible. TIKI TANE stayed here and could not say enough about how happy he was with his accommodation.
You paid $112.50 and these days for that price for two unfortunately it is priced to sell very cheap. We are slowly doing these motels units up one by one and everyone who stays in a new units is more than pleased. We are one of the largest motels in Oamaru. We have clients who wont stay anywhere else.
All the best for the future. kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Ascot Oamaru Motel for a week in February. The rooms are quite comfortable. The bathroom is a little bit dated but roomy. Staff are very friendly. There is a restaurant next door which has some nice meals (see my Galleon restaurant review). There is also a bowling alley in the complex and some arcade games. A supermarket is within walking distance as are some fast food takeaways. The motel is about 5 km from the centre of town but the walk is flat and easy

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pete_Mish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for commenting on your stay. All the best, hope to see you again. kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We were booked in here for two nights, but only stayed one. We should have left as soon as we saw the condition of the room. Our room was very old, dated, dirty and had an asbestos ceiling and most likely asbestos walls. The carpet was stained and in need of replacing, there were urine stains all over the wall next to the toilet. The furniture was stained, torn and falling apart. The were cobwebs on the television, food (we think) stains on the curtains and dining table. There was a layer of dust on the furniture and the skirting boards had not been cleaned for quite some time. The crockery in the kitchen was dirty and we had to clean it before we used it. The lino in the kitchen area was marked and dirty. I have never stayed in motel accommodation this bad in my life. We asked to be moved to another room but were unable to be moved. The Manager came to check out the room after we complained. The Manager did offer to refund a nights accommodation and said he would have the cleaners clean the room. The Manager made excuses for the condition of the room and eventually suggested he would prefer it if we left....... which we did. We have stayed in many older style motels and although they may be in need of an update, they have at least been clean and the owners seem to care about the facilities they are providing for paying their guests.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank carolyn622015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Owner at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Urine? I think not(unpolished spray and wipe, perhaps) Asbestos????? definitely not! Have you heard of anaglypta wallpaper, as this is what is on the walls, no asbestos anywhere. You should have accepted refund as I would have if it were this bad. The owners here are new and after taking over have done up 5 units to a very high professional standard. Which when Tikki Tane stayed, he commented on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We spent one night here and was given a big unit with 1 king, 1 queen and 1 single bed. Its spacious but layout is rather strange, big wasted space in the toilet and a table in the bathroom. There is no kitchenette facility. Only 1 corner to hold utensils, kettle, fridge. Looked at a few photos taken by other reviewers.. do not remember that the units are so dated. I believe there is a newer wing of units. Wifi was not good. Water pressure was good but temperature for shower was not easy to control. Glad it was only a one night stay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank blueraisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We stopped in Oamaru to break up the trip from Queenstown to Christchurch. Apleasant little town to look around. The motel was older but the rooms have been done up very nicely. A microwave and toaster provided. lovely bedding and fluffy towels. Lace curtain needs some attention but everything else was great

Room tip: We had 22 which was upstairs which i hate. There were similar rooms downstairs. We only needed a queen but ours had a single too
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRICEY2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Hello thank you for your review. Hope we get to see you again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews