We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$161
Hotels.com
$145
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$141
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Carolyn S
Burrum Heads, Australia

Appalling

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2018via mobile
We were booked in here for two nights, but only stayed one. We should have left as soon as we saw the condition of the room. Our room was very old, dated, dirty and had an asbestos ceiling and most likely asbestos walls. The carpet was stained and in need of replacing, there were urine stains all over the wall next to the toilet. The furniture was stained, torn and falling apart. The were cobwebs on the television, food (we think) stains on the curtains and dining table. There was a layer of dust on the furniture and the skirting boards had not been cleaned for quite some time. The crockery in the kitchen was dirty and we had to clean it before we used it. The lino in the kitchen area was marked and dirty. I have never stayed in motel accommodation this bad in my life. We asked to be moved to another room but were unable to be moved. The Manager came to check out the room after we complained. The Manager did offer to refund a nights accommodation and said he would have the cleaners clean the room. The Manager made excuses for the condition of the room and eventually suggested he would prefer it if we left....... which we did. We have stayed in many older style motels and although they may be in need of an update, they have at least been clean and the owners seem to care about the facilities they are providing for paying their guests.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Owner at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this review
Responded 1 Mar 2018
Urine? I think not(unpolished spray and wipe, perhaps) Asbestos????? definitely not! Have you heard of anaglypta wallpaper, as this is what is on the walls, no asbestos anywhere. You should have accepted refund as I would have if it were this bad. The owners here are new and after taking over have done up 5 units to a very high professional standard. Which when Tikki Tane stayed, he commented on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $211
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $215
1.8 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
Booking.com
$178
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $178
2.3 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
inside courtyard
Booking.com
$207
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Priceline
2.9 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
$151
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $124
  • Priceline
2.8 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$284
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $226
  • Expedia.com
    $230
3.5 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $140
  • Agoda.com
    $126
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.3 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free parking
Booking.com
$518
  • Expedia.com
    $457
  • Tripadvisor
    $457
  • Priceline
5.1 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $138
  • Expedia.com
    $138
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Ascot Motel Oamaru
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
8
23
11
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
8
23
11
9
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

We spent one night here and was given a big unit with 1 king, 1 queen and 1 single bed. Its spacious but layout is rather strange, big wasted space in the toilet and a table in the bathroom. There is no kitchenette facility. Only 1 corner to hold utensils, kettle, fridge. Looked at a few photos taken by other reviewers.. do not remember that the units are so dated. I believe there is a newer wing of units. Wifi was not good. Water pressure was good but temperature for shower was not easy to control. Glad it was only a one night stay.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank blueraisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We stopped in Oamaru to break up the trip from Queenstown to Christchurch. Apleasant little town to look around. The motel was older but the rooms have been done up very nicely. A microwave and toaster provided. lovely bedding and fluffy towels. Lace curtain needs some attention but everything else was great

Room tip: We had 22 which was upstairs which i hate. There were similar rooms downstairs. We only needed a queen but ours had a single too
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRICEY2830
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Hello thank you for your review. Hope we get to see you again soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Thought the money we paid, pricey,, for a double room,, The room, itself was ok, though the carpet could have done with a good clean, Desent pillows would have been good too, The bathroom needs a total revamp,or at least some hooks for your clothes, or a bench in the very roomy bathroom, rather than having to put clean clothes on the floor,

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank janenneb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We actually booked our night in Oamaru in another motel but there was a mix up in booking system and they did not have a room for us when we arrived. Fortunately the receptionist was kind enough to call other motels in the area – Ascot was on top of her list and we were lucky, they had a room!

We were made very welcome the moment we arrived, checking in went very smoothly and we had some good laughs with the hostess. The room was really big (consisted of 2 rooms 2 queen beds and 1 smaller bed) and clean and had everything we needed. Well, more than we needed as there were only two of us staying there. The only issue we had was with a shower – water pressure was really strong so it was not too comfortable to be there but it still was manageable. Otherwise, Ascot had a fast wifi, decent package of TV channels and the parking was right in front of the door. We were a bit worried about the noise as the motel building is not far from the main road but this was not an issue at all. So all in all a good experience – it’s a very decent motel, nothing more, nothing less. If ever in Oamaru, I would stay there again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EstTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Booked a one bedroomed apartment through booking.com and was disappointed to find it was just a studio unit as there was 3 of us in the same room. I was under the impression that there was a separate bedroom. The owner was very lovely and gave the wifi passwords out on arrival. She did mention that they were in the process of doing the rooms up. Our room hadn't been done up and the condensation was extremely bad. I had my clothes on the floor and the water had run down the walls from the window on to my clothes. We hadn't had a shower in the evening and the heat pump had been left on overnight so that shouldn't have happened. I did mention this on departure and they were very apologetic. I would ask for a renovated room next time.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hidez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marjorie F, Owner at Ascot Motel Oamaru, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Extremely sorry for your disappointing visit, this is the first i have heard of your situation, our booking system is live but if I discover my guest has got the wrong room I always do my very best to upgrade them. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
I two am at a loss as to why our rooms have suddenly become effected with condensation as they have not had that problem in the 12 months we have been here, however i have been told with the amount of wet weather we have been experiencing this year and guest coming in out of this horrible weather. it will take extra time for the room to heat up and dry everything out. The new rooms having extractor fans in them certainly cop better. I would be delighted to have you revisit and have a much more pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews