We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
21
11
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
11
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2020

We had a corner room which was quite dark, and the polar fleece linens were an unusual choice in the middle of summer - but the main issue was the guests in the next room. Despite the kindness of the owners who showed us around and asked them to be quiet they persisted in playing loud music, swearing, and worst of all - smoking directly outside our room. The smoke filled the room.

My oldest son had some issues with the bed as the slats weren't evenly spaced on any of the beds, so his mattress sagged through.

The location is lovely- the river was great - I had no issues with any of the other facilities - but if I had wanted to stay with backpackers, I would have stayed at a backpackers.
Bit of a shame really.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

Made the right decision and decided to stay the night here on our way down to Dunedin. Worth it, the owners were lovely and super welcoming. They have a menagerie of friendly animals and it's situated on a picturesque river. Definitely worth $16 each for a powered camper spot.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2019 via mobile

After a pleasant welcome our room was disappointing. The shower - toilet had no window or fan so the clean freshly painted room was dank. There were no bedside lights and only one power socket in a hard to use place nowhere near any horizontal surface. The bed linen on the kingside double bed was velveteen (yes, really!). There were no hooks to hang stuff up (though a couple of screws protruded from the wall) and no cupboard or ganging space. Given the good site and reasonably spacious room, the lack of simple finishing items reduced the value the place badly.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KNBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

A wonderful stay at this secluded campsite, lots for kids, giving parents that rest, time in the river, many great places, Morakei, Oamaru & Dunedin, Hampden a short drive down the road & has the biggest ice creams & best fish n chips.

The welcoming & hospitable staff who run this place, have been so kind & accomodating!

We stayed in the cabins, which were great! We will be back :-)

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AnnaM17084
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Camped at a non powered site and owners were friendly and very helpful in doing the extra little things, e.g. adding solar lighting to show a pathway between the trees to the facilities for late night visits. Easy spot and traffic noise from main road not a problem. Lots of farm animals for the kids to check out too.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank FionaMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews