We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jack R
Great location, great hosts, great facilities and we even got to feed the lambs
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Oct 2019
Made the right decision and decided to stay the night here on our way down to Dunedin. Worth it, the owners were lovely and super welcoming. They have a menagerie of friendly animals and it's situated on a picturesque river. Definitely worth $16 each for a powered camper spot.
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $200
  • Vio.com
    $187
  • Hotels.com
    $197
22.2 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Priceline
    $163
22.9 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$91
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $91
  • Agoda.com
21.4 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free parking
Booking.com
$211
  • Priceline
    $194
  • Agoda.com
    $181
  • ZenHotels.com
    $206
25.2 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$197
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $197
  • Hotels.com
    $198
  • Expedia.com
    $198
22.5 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$228
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $237
  • Priceline
    $228
  • Expedia.com
    $241
22.8 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $185
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
24.5 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $163
  • Agoda.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $180
25.4 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
Day
Booking.com
$80
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
22.4 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Hotels.com
$145
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $145
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Vio.com
    $145
25.7 km from Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
21
11
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
11
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2019 via mobile

After a pleasant welcome our room was disappointing. The shower - toilet had no window or fan so the clean freshly painted room was dank. There were no bedside lights and only one power socket in a hard to use place nowhere near any horizontal surface. The bed linen on the kingside double bed was velveteen (yes, really!). There were no hooks to hang stuff up (though a couple of screws protruded from the wall) and no cupboard or ganging space. Given the good site and reasonably spacious room, the lack of simple finishing items reduced the value the place badly.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KNBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

A wonderful stay at this secluded campsite, lots for kids, giving parents that rest, time in the river, many great places, Morakei, Oamaru & Dunedin, Hampden a short drive down the road & has the biggest ice creams & best fish n chips.

The welcoming & hospitable staff who run this place, have been so kind & accomodating!

We stayed in the cabins, which were great! We will be back :-)

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AnnaM17084
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Camped at a non powered site and owners were friendly and very helpful in doing the extra little things, e.g. adding solar lighting to show a pathway between the trees to the facilities for late night visits. Easy spot and traffic noise from main road not a problem. Lots of farm animals for the kids to check out too.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank FionaMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We stayed in a room for a good price, considering it was high season. We had a private bathroom and everything was so clean. We didn't use the kitchen but had dinner in the shared living-room. Same comment: everything was very clean. The owners were friendly and helpful. The place is located next to a road but it's a very quiet though. You are surrounded by nature and next to the river. Easy to park as well.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosaL_Escala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

We were a family of 20, rangeing in age from 8 to 83 and had a brilliant time. If you stay in the cabins, you have access to the lodge which has a large living/dining room and a beautiful outdoor area to sit and have a few drinks. We used the bbq to cook dinner. The hosts were very friendly. The location is next to a river and the area is very picturesque with the famous Moeraki Boulders 15 mins south and Oamaru 22mins North.
If you don’t feel like cooking, drive to Lockies fish and chips at Hampden for some of the best and freshest blue cod you will get.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank VickiM1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews