We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Boulders on a beach

As the title says, it’s some boulders on a beach. We parked at the doc car park rather than the... read more

Reviewed 17 October 2021
Bbb128
Wet day - interesting - stopped raining for us to have a look around

Interesting formations - but worth a look at the banks as well - a lot of what appears to be... read more

Reviewed 22 April 2021
Grant N
,
Hastings, New Zealand
Read all 1,845 reviews
  
Reviews (1,845)
Filter reviews
1,845 results
Traveller rating
778
719
280
51
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
778
719
280
51
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide car park walk along the beach gift shop natural wonder off the highway cracked open donation box worth a stop nice beach short walk photo opportunity the cliff nice walk well worth a visit south island new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 1,845 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2019 via mobile

We went in the morning around 9:00 to see the boulders, they were very interesting, there weren’t many people around, some people were climbing on them so we had to wait for them to move to get a picture, but it didn’t take long and we got some shots. Not a place to spend a lot of time, they boulders are all in one spot, not spread out. Worth a visit though in our opinion!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank TiarePitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 June 2019

where did these come from? dinosaur eggs? who would know, great to see at low tide only and have fun with the, they are a little walk to get to them either along the beach or down the stairs from the cafe

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 491wendym
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2019

Relatives of the Giant's Causeway, these boulders not he beach are quite the interesting natural phenomena. Larger than a average person, the boulders reflect what water poser can do to normal boulders.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Dori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 June 2019 via mobile

Expected to pay $2 to use that funny flight of steps to get down to the beach so we paid up and descended. The boulders were some distance away upon our descent but we were in need of the toilet. So we decided to go up to try find it before going closer to the boulders but couldn’t find any!!! Went into the cafe but there’s no one at the counter and the toilet next to it has a yellow cleaning sign placed in front of it and there’s another sign saying there are toilets behind the shop but there’s no sign and that one door that looks like a toilet has a lock put to it. Crap tourist attraction. Never even gone to one that’s so money-minded. Already paid $2 per person and we couldn’t even use the toilet. Had to drive to the next town Palmerston and the public toilet is free and clean

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank oystergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2019 via mobile

One of New Zealand’s odd little mysteries, the Moeraki Boulders are worth a stop. Surprisingly concentrated over about 100m, access is via steps to a beach walk.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank robsT9648IO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews