We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
16
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016

My 17th stay with Sheryl and Ken, who are a really great couple. They and their quirky home are so welcoming. And Sheryl's cooking is superb. (Worth pre-arranging for evening meal, unless you want to go to a particular restaurant, as Totora is about 7km out of town.) Stayed 5 nights on this my 17th visit. Lovely comfy bed, reluctant to get up in the mornings. Enjoyed the log burner as some evenings were chilly, accompanied by wide-ranging and often hilarious conversation. The whole atmosphere is so restful it really is a welcome retreat

Room tip: Both guest rooms are quiet
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SunhatNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2016

My husband and I came to Ranui Retreat for our 1st wedding anniversary and it was just what we needed. We were able to bring our puppy with us too, which was an added bonus. Sheryl and Ken looked after us and we enjoyed deliciously home-cooked meals as well. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting and easy to find. 5 stars!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 708pascaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Cheryl and Ken are warm and welcoming hosts; their creative and artistic touches are everywhere in this beautiful rural setting. The rooms, like the hosts are warm, welcoming and colourful, the breakfast delicious. Cheryl's homemade bread and muesli are well worth a mention. Ken is a mine of helpful information about what to see and do in the area.
We can't wait to return!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Cheryl and Ken made us so welcome to their beautiful property that although we only stayed one night we felt as though we had made friends in this short time. We had the Lavendar Room which was delightful, clean and with an ensuite. We brought our own snack dinner and ate it in their wonderful garden chatting to Ken who also provided us with a glass of excellent wine and a tour of the property. Cheryl's large delicious continental breakfast was more than adequate and we declined the cooked option. We would stay here again should we visit wonderfully historic Oamaru.

Room tip: Did not see the other room but may be nicer as it opens onto the garden.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BASSA-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We greatly enjoyed our overnight stay and meeting Sheryl and Ken in their beautiful home and gardens. Very comfortable accommodation and a delicious dinner and breakfast. We arrived as guests and left as friends, the perfect B&B.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mountshasta390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews