We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
SunhatNorwich
Norwich

Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Oct 2016
My 17th stay with Sheryl and Ken, who are a really great couple. They and their quirky home are so welcoming. And Sheryl's cooking is superb. (Worth pre-arranging for evening meal, unless you want to go to a particular restaurant, as Totora is about 7km out of town.) Stayed 5 nights on this my 17th visit. Lovely comfy bed, reluctant to get up in the mornings. Enjoyed the log burner as some evenings were chilly, accompanied by wide-ranging and often hilarious conversation. The whole atmosphere is so restful it really is a welcome retreat
Date of stay: October 2016
Room Tip: Both guest rooms are quiet
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$115
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
8.2 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free parking
Booking.com
$177
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $176
9.3 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$168
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $168
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $174
9.7 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$115
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $115
8.7 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front facade lit up at night
Booking.com
$340
  • Agoda.com
8.8 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Expedia.com
    $164
10.7 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $116
  • Expedia.com
    $131
9.8 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Hotels.com
    $135
9.8 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $123
  • Hotels.com
    $125
9.7 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
$234
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $189
  • Expedia.com
    $223
12.1 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
16
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2016

My husband and I came to Ranui Retreat for our 1st wedding anniversary and it was just what we needed. We were able to bring our puppy with us too, which was an added bonus. Sheryl and Ken looked after us and we enjoyed deliciously home-cooked meals as well. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting and easy to find. 5 stars!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 708pascaleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Cheryl and Ken are warm and welcoming hosts; their creative and artistic touches are everywhere in this beautiful rural setting. The rooms, like the hosts are warm, welcoming and colourful, the breakfast delicious. Cheryl's homemade bread and muesli are well worth a mention. Ken is a mine of helpful information about what to see and do in the area.
We can't wait to return!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Cheryl and Ken made us so welcome to their beautiful property that although we only stayed one night we felt as though we had made friends in this short time. We had the Lavendar Room which was delightful, clean and with an ensuite. We brought our own snack dinner and ate it in their wonderful garden chatting to Ken who also provided us with a glass of excellent wine and a tour of the property. Cheryl's large delicious continental breakfast was more than adequate and we declined the cooked option. We would stay here again should we visit wonderfully historic Oamaru.

Room tip: Did not see the other room but may be nicer as it opens onto the garden.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BASSA-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We greatly enjoyed our overnight stay and meeting Sheryl and Ken in their beautiful home and gardens. Very comfortable accommodation and a delicious dinner and breakfast. We arrived as guests and left as friends, the perfect B&B.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mountshasta390
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a pleasant surprise! Having not booked ahead, we could not find any accommodation in Oamaru and we were lucky enough to find this little gem just a few minutes out of town. Very quiet location with lovely gardens and amazing hosts. Ken and Sheryl were delightful and we felt right at home. The spread for brekky was awesome! We would love to come back for a longer stay!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 374jennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews