We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mountshasta390
St. Andrews, United Kingdom

Perfect!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Dec 2014
We greatly enjoyed our overnight stay and meeting Sheryl and Ken in their beautiful home and gardens. Very comfortable accommodation and a delicious dinner and breakfast. We arrived as guests and left as friends, the perfect B&B.
Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$546
  • Hotels.com
    $513
  • Expedia.com
    $522
  • Priceline
    $518
7.8 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$284
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $284
  • Agoda.com
    $213
  • Hotels.com
    $226
9.3 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
inside courtyard
Booking.com
$198
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $205
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Priceline
    $198
9.7 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$124
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $124
  • Vio.com
    $124
  • eDreams
    $124
8.7 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
Booking.com
$161
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $175
  • Agoda.com
    $131
  • Priceline
    $146
10.2 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$185
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Vio.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $184
9.8 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $211
  • Agoda.com
    $206
  • Expedia.com
    $215
10.7 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $145
9.8 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $138
  • Priceline
    $140
  • Expedia.com
    $138
9.7 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$151
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $137
  • Vio.com
    $121
  • Expedia.com
    $149
12.1 km from Ranui Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
16
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
6
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

What a pleasant surprise! Having not booked ahead, we could not find any accommodation in Oamaru and we were lucky enough to find this little gem just a few minutes out of town. Very quiet location with lovely gardens and amazing hosts. Ken and Sheryl were delightful and we felt right at home. The spread for brekky was awesome! We would love to come back for a longer stay!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 374jennyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed again at Ranui Retreat, this time for 5 nights. We keep going back. Sheryl and Ken give such a warm welcome and are great fun. And Sheryl's cooking is sublime. A great place to stay to look around Oamaru and to explore the surrounding coast or country. The Pondings at nearby Bourton on the Waitaki River are a great place to fish for trout or maybe even salmon.

Room tip: The downstairs room is en-suite
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunhatNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2012

"Can a second visit ever live up to the promise and excitement of the first? It can. It DID! The accommodations at Ranui Retreat are every bit as lovely as we remembered and our hosts Sheryl and Ken as generous and friendly as well. The surprise this time was joining them for a potluck supper with some of their friends and being incorporated into a true New Zealand at-home experience, lending a hand in the kitchen and feeling that we had become friends as well as guests. It says far more about the friendliness and openness of our hosts than that we ourselves are so special. Again, enjoy a unique experience and treat yourself to a few nights at Ranui Retreat with the Laramans."

Room tip: Room with ensuite is very private, with excellent access but out of the way of our hosts' daily activities
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamelaNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2011

Our second trip to this B & B and well worth it. Excellent furnishings and a very warm greeting that made us quite at home in NZ. Their tour of their upcoming olive oil harvest made our stay very personable. They made sure to let us know of the best restaurant nearby for our dining requests.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doughare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2011

You are made to feel welcome as soon as you arrive at Ranui Retreat.Sheryl and Ken are very friendly and work hard to make their guests happy.I have stayed twice and feel as though I am treated as one of the family.The decor and effacts are interesting and quirky and there is a large garden which is pleasant to stroll around.
Their home is situated a few kilometres south of Oamaru and is in a peaceful location.
I can thoroughly recommend a stay at Ranui Retreat.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews