We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pigletau
Fantabulous 2 nights stay
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Dec 2018via mobile
Had the best stay at Gumtree Farmhouse and host Jennie was wonderful! Apart from the wonderful brekkie prepared by Jennie...everything from the smallest details to that of introducing us to the must dos were top-notch. The farm sits at 82 Devils Bridge Road and u will see the Gumtree Farmstay wooden stand at the entrance to the farm. The place sits on a 2-hectare pc of land and the farm was simply lovely! Not too far from the main town centre yet close to nature for us to really rest and relax. I have attached pics on how to get to the farm once u arrive at Devils Bridge.
Date of stay: December 2018
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
4.2 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
3.4 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
deluxe studio king bed
3.4 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
3.7 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
3.7 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
3.4 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
3.4 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
3.9 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free parking
Day
4.2 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Lounge dinning room
24.5 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
63
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is one of the few highlight in our trip. Jennie is a great host. Grant is a friendly and funny guy. The kids are amazing too. The Gibsons have a great knowledge of farming and they are willing to share with us. The best way of experiencing New Zealand is to stay in Gumtree Farmstay.

We enjoying the animals, the 2 lovely dogs, Cloud and Bonnie. We love playing and watching the house cats lying in the living room. We love the interaction with sheep, cows, piggy, chicken and alpacas. we have a great farm tour - feeding and interacting with the animals.

At night, we are able to catch sea of stars in the sky.

Lovely breaksfast and Dinner. We have a great chats with the family throughout the 3days 2nights stay. Lovely room. Basically we just feel like being part of them during the 2 nights stay. Highly recommended to stay at least 2 nights.

Happy Birthday to Lucy and myself (guess i won't forget ever) haha... cya guys again soon...

Room tip: All rooms are good
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherly627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us. It's really appreciated. It makes me so happy to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We all really enjoyed meeting you both and hopefully we'll see you in our neck of the woods some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Jennie and her family are so friendly. We love her clean, beautiful and spacious house. Breakfast is abundant and tasty. The farm tour is a must see because it lets us feel the unique fun of farm stay. We miss Jennie, sheeps and the three sweet working/pet dogs.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you so much for leaving a review about your stay at Gumtree. Love how you wrote 'working/pet' dogs as that is very true, our dogs are far too spoilt!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

What a lovely place! Jennie really is the real deal and so is this bed & breakfast. We were a bit surprised to really be staying in their home with them. We had our own huge, lovely bathroom right across the hall from our room. The door was left unlocked for us each night so we could come and go freely and Jennie made us breakfast each morning, including fresh, hot biscuits or rhubarb muffins. We enjoyed talking with her over breakfast each morning. You can tell she loves to learn about the origins and culture of each guest she hosts in her home. Her garden is gorgeous and inspiring. She gives a great tour around the farm and interacting/feeding all the animals is great. I was in love with each of the 3 dogs, such hams they were! It is only about a 10 minute drive to/from town and is a beautiful drive at that. It's a great town to enjoying staying outside of as not much happens after 9pm in town anyway!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ftworth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thanks for the great review. LOVED the photos you put up (except for the dorky one of me lol). It's great to see our farm through another's eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Jennie and her family are absolutely great hosts. They are not your typical commercial farm but more of a family hobby and lifestyle choice they have made.

You get to see a variety of animals and I had my first experiences with the alpacas. Depending on how adventurous you are, the Gibsons are more than willing to share their farming experiences with you. Jennie gave me some hands on experiences in feeding and herding.

The rooms are so clean and you have everything you need. Trust me on this... I'm very particular with my accommodations and you can look up my other reviews.

My piece of advice, bring a pair of footwear which you're willing to give up and not wear your limited editions. This is a farm!

I will definitely be back should I ever come back to South Island.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BlackCoookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Thanks so much for your great review. I really appreciate your feedback.
Hey sorry, it seems I must have forgotten to show you where the gumboots are kept! We have spare gumboots for guests to clomp about in so you don't have to worry about getting your own shoes dirty.
Look forward to seeing you sometime soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We wanted a farmstay experience was out of giving our little girl a closer contact with sheep and get to know a farm's daily life. We searched websites and finally chose Gumtree our detination.
Now we are back from New Zealand, we still miss the magnificent country a lot, both extrem weather and nice people. All good memory. Gumtree host, Gennie family were all very friendly and with a lot patient to guests and it is super OKAY if you are from non frequent English speaking persons. The location is 10-15 minutes from main street/downtown. We found many animals and beautiful garden there. Great bedrooms and breakfast. All super. If someone is looking for a farmstay experience, We think Gumtree Farmstay won't fail your expectation and one will find a lot more surprise there. Thanks to Gennie's family of giving this amazed experience. Wish you and every family member health and happiness.

Kuo family

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank minikyosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thanks so much Kuo family for your great review. It always makes me really happy when I get feedback from guests saying that they enjoyed their stay with us. Come visit us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews