We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Richie K

An unforgettable farmstay experience at Gumtree

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Feb 2017via mobile
We wanted a farmstay experience was out of giving our little girl a closer contact with sheep and get to know a farm's daily life. We searched websites and finally chose Gumtree our detination.
Now we are back from New Zealand, we still miss the magnificent country a lot, both extrem weather and nice people. All good memory. Gumtree host, Gennie family were all very friendly and with a lot patient to guests and it is super OKAY if you are from non frequent English speaking persons. The location is 10-15 minutes from main street/downtown. We found many animals and beautiful garden there. Great bedrooms and breakfast. All super. If someone is looking for a farmstay experience, We think Gumtree Farmstay won't fail your expectation and one will find a lot more surprise there. Thanks to Gennie's family of giving this amazed experience. Wish you and every family member health and happiness.

Kuo family
Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this review
Responded 13 Feb 2017
Thanks so much Kuo family for your great review. It always makes me really happy when I get feedback from guests saying that they enjoyed their stay with us. Come visit us again sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $211
  • Agoda.com
    $206
  • Expedia.com
    $215
3.3 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio - Queen & Single
Booking.com
$161
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $175
  • Agoda.com
    $131
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
inside courtyard
Booking.com
$198
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $205
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Family 2 bedroom Apartment
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $135
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$284
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $213
  • Expedia.com
    $230
4.2 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
One bedroom apartment
Booking.com
$151
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $122
  • Expedia.com
    $149
3.4 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$185
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $184
  • Agoda.com
    $181
  • Expedia.com
    $201
3.8 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$546
  • Expedia.com
    $522
  • Hotels.com
    $513
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$124
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • eDreams
    $124
5.0 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$140
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $138
  • Agoda.com
    $134
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Oamaru
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
63
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I really wanted a farmstay experience as part of our holiday around South Island and I couldn't have picked a better place. From the moment we arrived and every minute we were there, Jennie and her family were so welcoming, it almost felt like we were staying with friends. Even the family cats warmed up to us quickly! The house is impeccable, guest rooms large with beautiful views. Top-notch accommodation and hospitality! If you want a nice country side experience, choose Gumtree Farmstay.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mimimiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review. We also enjoyed your 2 day stay with us, so many laughs and great conversation - that's what its all about!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Great place to stay to experience farmstay in New Zealand. Very friendly family which makes you feel at home all the time. Willing to share their experiences and how they move from Australia to New Zealand.

Date of stay: October 2015
Thank andrewganhw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

I see its been a while since you stayed with us (almost a year!) but I still remember you! There have been quite a few changes on the farm since then but basically we are doing the same thing - rearing bull calves, fattening bulls, running a small flock of sheep. We now have alpaca which are a new addition to the farm scenery. Many thanks for thinking of us and for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Magical and memorable. Others described it well, so I won't repeat it. Our impression reflects the best of all the comments. We cant sing Jennie's praises loud enough. Go way out of your way if at all possible to take in this magical experience.

We hope Jennie continues her venture to allow others to continue to share a slice of her life.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GPK1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016

Thank you for thinking of us and writing a review. We really appreciate you doing so. We try to make each guests visit an enjoyable (and hopefully informative) stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Our family of four arrived to be warmly greeted by Jennie (and her pets!). Straight away we were made to feel at home. After some delicious afternoon tea we went for a walking tour around the farm- the kids were so excited to look for eggs and feed all the animals, we were amazed by the serenity of the property. Jennie cooked us a fabulous home cooked roast, complete with roast veggies and topped off with a sticky-date pudding...by far the best meal we enjoyed on our 4 week holiday. The beds were super comfy, the spacious bathroom a welcome sight after our prior motel stays, and the fireplace in the lounge room was as warm and inviting as Jennie's family.

I couldn't recommend Gumtree farmstay highly enough, it was definitely a highlight of our trip and we hope that one day we can make it back to this little piece of paradise :)

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylied992016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

We certainly appreciate you taking the time to leave such a heart warming review about your stay with us. We can only hope that one day we will meet you all again :) Thanks guys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We informed Jennie that we would be arriving sometime in the mid afternoon, and were pleasantly surprised to be greeted with muffins and tea! The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The toilet was huge with a giant bathtub - great for relaxing after a long day. There were a great variety of animals on the farm - kitten, dogs, alpacas, chickens, ducks and sheep (so incredibly friendly they sprinted for 50 metres to where we were when Jennie called out to them). Breakfast the next day was yet another generous spread. Jennie also shared with us where we could get a good view of penguins. Grateful to Jennie for her hospitality! Hope your ducklings have safely hatched and your sheep have lambs soon!

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank happiesthuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fallenfarmgirl, Owner at Gumtree Farmstay & The Shepherds Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at our farm and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Sadly the duckling hatch rate was not much of a success, lets hope next year is much better!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews