We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for brunch”
Review of Steam Cafe

Steam Cafe
Ranked #2 of 8 Quick Bites in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We had a fabulous brunch of scrambled (free range) eggs with bacon and tomato on ciabata and it was delicious, best eggs I have ever tasted. Our waitress was lovely, friendly. Great venue, great food, great staff.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Vonny-Russ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Sat outside & enjoyed the winter sun in this friendly cafe, the cinnamon brioches are the best I’ve tasted in NZ, so delicious we had to buy more than one! Highly recommend a visit to try one.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We had a long black coffee and a cappuccino to drink, some bacon eggs and a pie with leek to eat. It was just delicious, the staff is so friendly, the lady from the kitchen came to us, we talked about food and family, she was lovely, we felt that she loves to cook good food with quality ingredients.
Some people write bad reviews just to be bad, everything here is perfect, if you find something wrong just ask some help from the staff, they’ll satisfy your request with a smile. Could be our place if we lived here. Lucile & Eric from France.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank EricPaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Love dropping in here on our way South. Opens earlier than most. Great coffee Nice selection in food cabinets, and always friendly staff.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Footprints483687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Went in for lunch Not a great choice from cabinet food. Chose Pie with potatoes on top yet to find the potatoes on top. Arrived after 35 minutes and only luke warm.Mine had a very long human hair through it which was rather off putting.Coffee was fine still just coffee The male Barrister with untied hair was making coffee straight in full view from us continually pushes his hair back off his face with his hands MOST unhygienic we both felt.Tables could also do with a good scrub with crumbs stuck in the cracks.The young girl staff member was the only pleasant part of our visit.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steam Cafe also viewed

Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 
Oamaru, Otago Region
Oamaru, Otago Region
 

Been to Steam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing