We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weird but great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steampunk HQ

Steampunk HQ
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Oamaru
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Steampunk hq, which opened in november 2011, is an art collaboration proudly based in oamaru, new zealand. It sets out to portray an industrial version of steampunk, with a giant sense of humour and larger than life visions of an off the wall steampunk universe. Steampunk HQ is well known for its full scale train engine that spits fire and billows smoke The lonely planet guide rates steampunk hq as one of nz’s best new tourist attractions.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“weird but great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worthwhile visit to this crazy and quirky place. A must to see if you go to Oamaru. Interesting for ladies too.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanieh910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    194
    65
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing imaginings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did the few rocks on the beach thing (Moeraki Boulders)... then came here and were blown away! What an amazing use of left brain imaginings. The light show takes you to a whole new world. Must see! Highly recommended. Well done guys.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hilarious, interesting, fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were two 30-year olds and a 72 year old, visiting just because we wanted to stop somewhere on the way to Dunedin and this looked too weird to miss. We showed up thinking we had about an hour until closing, but we forgot it was Sunday and they close a bit earlier. The guy let us in for a tenner, and told us we should do The Portal. We did, three times!
The whole museum is just weird good fun. I bet a kid would have a field day, there are so many buttons to press! Some of the machines do nothing, but some (like the organ!) do surprising and amazing things! We did go into The Portal, and it is lovely! It's really nothing fancy, but it's BEAUTIFUL. When it ends, you just want to press the start button again and again. Don't open the door to go in until you've made sure to read the instructions, because people will be upset if you interrupt their experience.
The outdoor section was fun, it's like a giant playground with all sorts of places to climb and go inside and explore. It is super weird, and little kids (under 7) might find some things a bit scary, but we found that it turned us all into young explorers again!
The staff came to tell us he had to close up, but then smiled and winked at us and told us to go ahead and do the Portal one more time. So we did!
What a genial place. Full of strange imagination.
*If you don't want to go inside (or even if you do), make sure to find the coin slot on the train engine out front. It's a rusty old coin box that doesn't look like it will actually do anything. There were a bunch of other tourists around when we put a $2 coin in, and we were all surprised at what happened next! Do it, it's fantastic!

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Canada-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visiting Oamaru for many years, we have seen a huge amount of hype for Steampunk HQ. We were disappointed when we finally visited it. There were a few interesting exhibits, but mostly a lot of old stuff with little explanation. I found a lot of the old machinery interesting, but that is just me. A highlight was the experience with lights and mirrors, but the rest was not memorable.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank aps_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Still at a loss.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Did not really understand this art concept before entering and l do not have a clue after going around the Steam punk museum.lt would be helpful if there was a commentary or someone to explain its origins and goals. To the layman it just looks like a lot of rusty industrial waste fashioned into the set of a
Mad Max movie. At 10bucks entrance charge overpriced.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank barbelbasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steampunk HQ also viewed

 

Been to Steampunk HQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing